Ibn Butlan

IBN BUTLAN

SCHACHTAFELEN DER GESUNTHEYT, 1533

HEALING IN TABULAR FORM

The "Chessboards of Health" is traced back to an Arab manuscript of the High Middle Ages. The first German translation appeared in Strassbourg in 1533. The work of a second Arab physician, Ibn Gazla, dedicated to the diagnosis, treatment and healing of diseases, accidents and other ailments, was added to the work of Ibn Butlan in this edition. The third part is again written by Ibn Butlan and summarises his health rules.

Both Ibn Butlan and Ibn Gazla use a new type of representation, the table, which had previously appeared only in astronomical and legal works, but not in medical works. These "boards" are each located on the left side of the book, while the right side provides the same content as text. Ibn Butlan's dietary part contains 40 tables. Matching woodcuts are visible in a border at the lower margin of the right side of the book. The second, medical part by Ibn Gazla deals with diseases in 44 tables.

EXCELLENT REPUTATION OF ARAB MEDICINE

The original Arab manuscript of Ibn Butlan was never printed. It consisted exclusively of tables, which is why it received the name Takwim, which is "board" or "table" in Arabic. The first Latin translations from the 13th century seized on the title and changed it to Tacuinum. This made the work accessible to the Latin-speaking world of European scholars, among whom Arab medicine was held in high regard.

The document aroused great interest, as attested by the numerous surviving copies: 25 manuscripts and several ornately decorated codices have been found in Europe.

The Latin "Tacuinum Sanitatis" was first printed in 1531. The German translation, illustrated with woodcuts by Hans Weiditz, followed only two years later. The translator, Michael Herr, gave the work the name "Schachtafelen der Gesuntheyt" (Chessboards of Health) because the unusual presentation of the contents in tabular form reminded him of a similarly partitioned chessboard. He also played with the word "table", which, on the one hand, referred to the unusual presentation, but on the other hand was a common word for dining table and thus highlighted the nutritional advice.

CHRISTIAN PHYSICIANS FROM BAGHDAD

Ibn Butlan (died 1066) was an Arab Christian physician and philosopher whose full name was Abu al-Hasan al-Mukhtar ibn al-Hasan ibn ‘Abdun Ibn Sa’dun ibn Butlan. He was called Elluchasem Elimithar in Europe. Ibn Butlan belonged to the Nestorian Christian tradition, whose members had been persecuted by the church of the Roman Empire for centuries. He was a scholar who was already famous in his lifetime and who expanded the canon of knowledge of that time. As a border crosser between the Christian, Jewish and Muslim worlds, he sought harmony between the religious communities.

Ibn Butlan was born in the thriving cultural city of Baghdad where he studied and practised medicine. In February 1049, he left for Egypt and stayed in Cairo for three years. His medical debate with the Caliph of Cairo's personal physician that led to his flight from Cairo is well documented. He travelled on to Constantinople, where he recorded his experiences in the autobiographical work "The Physician's Banquet". Then he moved to Aleppo and took over the leadership of a Christian community. In 1063, Ibn Butlan worked as a hospital physician in Antioch and died in a nearby monastery in 1066.

Ibn Gazla (died 1100) was younger than Ibn Butlan and was also an Arab Christian physician-philosopher from Baghdad. In contrast to Ibn Butlan, he converted to Islam.

ANCIENT DIETETICS IN A HEALTH GUIDE

"Regimen sanitatis" means something like "guidelines for health". This health guide, which became its own literary genre in Europe in the 13th to the 15th centuries, focused on offering an alphabetised overview.

"Dietetics" encompassed a much wider area than the current term "diet". According to Galen's doctrine of the six "Res non naturales", the regimen regulated the six areas of life that can be deliberately influenced: Light and air (aer), food and drink (cibus et potus), movement and rest (motus et quies), sleeping and waking (somnus et vigilia), excretions (secreta et excreta) and affects (affectus animi). Regulation of these areas of life had to correspond to the influence of the heavenly bodies, as well as the respective type of individual.

Ibn Butlan's "Regimen sanitatis" does indeed teach moderation, although not hostility towards the senses. Areas of life such as body cleansing, beauty care and sexuality are discussed just as seriously as the fight against diseases.

Select your privacy settings to continue. Please read our privacy policy and imprint for more information.

Ibn Butlan - Museum für medizinhistorische Bücher Muri
Ibn Butlan

IBN BUTLAN

SCHACHTAFELEN DER GESUNTHEYT, 1533

HEILEN IN TABELLENFORM

Die Schachtafeln der Gesundheit gehen auf eine arabische Handschrift aus dem Hochmittelalter zurück. Die erste deutsche Übersetzung erschien 1533 in Strasbourg. Dem Werk von Ibn Butlan wurde in dieser Ausgabe das Werk eines zweiten arabischen Mediziners Ibn Gazla hinzugefügt, das sich der Diagnostik, Behandlung und Heilung von Krankheiten, Unfällen und sonstigen Leiden widmet. Der dritte Teil stammt wieder von Ibn Butlan und fasst dessen Gesundheitsregeln zusammen.  

Sowohl Ibn Butlan wie auch Ibn Gazla bedienen sich einer neuen Darstellungsweise, der Tabelle, die zuvor nur in astronomischen und juristischen, nicht aber in medizinischen Werken vorkam. Diese „Tafeln“ befinden sich jeweils auf der linken Buchseite, während die rechte dieselben Inhalte ausformuliert wiedergibt. Ibn Butlans diätetischer Teil enthält 40 Tafeln. Passende Holzschnitte sind in einer Bordüre am unteren Rand der rechten Seite sichtbar. Der zweite, medizinische Teil von Ibn Gazla handelt auf 44 Tafeln Krankheiten ab.

HOHES ANSEHEN DER ARABISCHEN MEDIZIN

Die ursprüngliche arabische Handschrift von Ibn Butlan wurde nie gedruckt. Sie bestand ausschliesslich aus Tabellen, weshalb sie den Namen Takwim, auf arabisch Tafel oder Tabelle, erhielt. Die ersten lateinischen Übersetzungen aus dem 13. Jahrhundert griffen den Titel auf und wandelten ihn in Tacuinum um. Damit wurde das Werk der lateinischsprachigen Gelehrtenwelt Europas zugänglich, bei der die arabische Medizin hohes Ansehen genoss.

Die Schrift stiess auf grosses Interesse, wovon zahlreiche überlieferte Abschriften zeugen: In Europa sind 25 Handschriften und mehrere reich verzierte Codices nachweisbar.

Das lateinische „Tacuinum Sanitatis“ wurde erstmals 1531 gedruckt. Die mit Holzschnitten von Hans Weiditz illustrierte, deutsche Übersetzung folgte nur zwei Jahre später. Der Übersetzer Michael Herr gab dem Werk den Namen „Schachtafelen der Gesuntheyt“, weil ihn die aussergewöhnliche Präsentation der Inhalte in Tabellenform an ein entsprechend unterteiltes Schachbrett erinnerte. Er spielte aber auch mit dem Wort „Tafel“, das einerseits die Form der ungewöhnlichen Präsentation meinte, anderseits als Bezeichnung für einen Esstisch geläufig war und damit auf die Ernährungsratschläge abhob.

CHRISTLICHE ÄRZTE AUS BAGDAD

Ibn Butlan (gest. 1066) war ein arabisch-christlicher Arzt und Philosoph, der mit vollem Namen Abu al-Hasan al-Mukhtar ibn al-Hasan ibn ‘Abdun Ibn Sa’dun ibn Butlan hiess und in Europa Elluchasem Elimithar genannt wurde. Ibn Butlan gehörte dem nestorianischen Christentum an, dessen Anhänger von der römischen Reichskirche während Jahrhunderten verfolgt wurden. Er war ein Gelehrter, der bereits zu Lebzeiten berühmt war und den damaligen Wissenskanon erweiterte. Als Grenzgänge zwischen der christlichen, jüdischen und muslimischen Welt strebte er nach Harmonie zwischen den Religionsgemeinschaften.

Ibn Butlan kam in der blühenden Kulturstadt Bagdad zur Welt, wo er Medizin studierte und praktizierte. Im Februar 1049 brach er nach Ägypten auf und blieb drei Jahre in Kairo. Bekannt wurde seine medizinische Auseinandersetzung mit dem Leibarzt des Kalifen von Kairo, die zu seiner Flucht aus Kairo führte. Er reiste weiter nach Konstantinopel, wo er seine Erlebnisse in der autobiografisch gefärbten Schrift „Das Ärztebankett“ verarbeitete. Dann zog er nach Aleppo und übernahm die Leitung einer christlichen Gemeinde. 1063 wirkte Ibn Butlan in Antiochien als Spitalarzt und starb 1066 in einem nahegelegenen Kloster.

Ibn Gazla (gest. 1100) war jünger als Ibn Butlan und ebenfalls arabisch-christlicher Arztphilosoph aus Bagdad. Im Gegensatz zu Ibn Butlan konvertierte er zum Islam.

ANTIKE DIÄTETIK IM GESUNDHEITSRATGEBER

Regimen sanitatis bedeutet soviel wie Leitfaden für die Gesundheit. Diese Gesundheitsratgeber, die als eigene Literaturgattung im 13. bis 15. Jahrhundert nach Europa gelangten, richteten sich an die alphabetisierte Oberschicht.  

Die Diätetik umfasste ein viel breiteres Gebiet als der heutige Begriff Diät. Gemäss Galens Lehre der sechs „Res non naturales“ regelte das Regimen die sechs willentlich beeinflussbaren Lebensbereiche: Licht und Luft (aer), Essen und Trinken (cibus et potus), Bewegung und Ruhe (motus et quies), Schlafen und Wachen (somnus et vigilia), Ausscheidungen (secreta et excreta) und  Affekte (affectus animi). Die Regulierung dieser Lebensbereiche musste dem Einfluss der Gestirne sowie dem Typus der jeweiligen Person entsprechen.  

Das Regimen sanitatis von Ibn Butlan lehrt zwar Mässigung, nicht aber Sinnesfeindlichkeit. Lebensbereiche wie Körperreinigung, Schönheitspflege und Sexualität werden genauso ernsthaft behandelt wie die Bekämpfung von Krankheiten.