Leonhart Fuchs

LEONHART FUCHS

NEW KREUTERBUCH, 1543

PRECISE WOODCUTS

The first German edition of the "Kreuterbuch" by Leonhart Fuchs contains 512 woodcuts. They illustrate known medicinal herbs in a way that is very close to nature. Over 400 of the pictures illustrate local plants. Others come from the "new" continent of America. About a hundred plants were presented for the first time in a written document.

The precision of the illustrations, which was new at this level of quality, was intended to rule out erroneous medical applications. In addition to two directories of plant names in German and Latin, an index of known diseases facilitates the finding of each presented remedy.

The book is divided into 346 chapters, each introducing a specific genus of plants with multiple "genders". The descriptions follow a strict pattern. First, the name is listed in German with its Latin and Greek equivalents. The term "gender" is used to describe different species within a superordinate family of plants. This is followed by the "Gstalt", the places where the plant usually grows, the flowering period and their characteristics and use in the medicine of the time.

IMMORTALISED IN THE GENUS OF THE FUCHSIAS

The German "Kreuterbuch" achieved great success, which is evident in the numerous editions and translations. The woodcuts were copied by other authors and adopted. The lifelike appearance of the plants with flowers, fruit, leaves, from trunk to roots, has prevailed in European herbal books.

As a physician and herbalist, Fuchs gave applied medicine a central position. At that time, pharmaceutical teaching followed the ancient humororism or the Doctrine of the Four Juices, which interpreted illness as an imbalance of the four humours – blood, yellow bile, black bile, and phlegm. Some uses are also in keeping with the signature doctrine. One had to search for external similarities in order to find the correct remedy. The shape of a leaf or the colour of a plant's juices were supposed to provide hints to people about the right herbal remedy for a particular illness. Thus, celandine with its yellow juice was considered an effective remedy for banishing jaundice.

Two hundred years later, Linnaeus also classified flora according to kinship and similarities. At the suggestion of a Franciscan priest, Linneaus named a plant, "Fuchsia triphylla", after Leonhart Fuchs, which forms the genus of Fuchsias along with other flowering plants.

A FOLLOWER OF LUTHER

Leonhart Fuchs was born in the Bavarian town of Wemding in 1501. He studied medicine at Ingolstadt and practiced in Munich. In 1525 he married the daughter of a patrician, Anna Friedberg, with whom he had a large family of six girls and four boys.

in 1526, he was appointed Professor of Medicine at the University of Ingolstadt. Fuchs was an early follower of the reformer Martin Luther, who had held his first reformed mass just a year earlier. He therefore felt himself in enemy territory at the Catholic University of Ingolstadt, and two years later he accepted a position as personal physician to the Margrave of Brandenburg in Ansbach. In 1535 he became a Professor of Medicine in Tübingen, where he established a medicinal herb garden.

In Tübingen he was under the supervision of Duke Ulrich of Württemberg, who wanted to reform Tübingen University as the first institution modelled on Martin Luther's model. Fuchs fulfilled this expectation and served as Dean and Rector.

The plant illustrations which made the herbal famous were drawn by Albert Meyer under the supervision of Fuchs. Heinrich Füllmaurer transferred the drawings to wood blocks, and the Strasbourg wood engraver Veyt Rudolf Speckle made the printing plates.

THREE GROUND-BREAKING WORKS IN ONE YEAR

In 1543, the work "De revolutionibus orbium coelestium" by Nicolas Copernicus, which places the sun in the centre of the orbits of the planets, was printed. In the same year, the anatomical image work "De humani corporis fabrica" by Andreas Vesalius appeared, which altered the image of the body. And then the "Kreuterbuch" by Leonhart Fuchs was also printed in 1543. It is commonly held that the "Fabrica" and the "Kreuterbuch" contributed to the transformation of medical fundamentals with their own observations.

The "Kreuterbuch" turns its back on the strictly dogmatic scholasticism and Arabian medicine of the Middle Ages. However, the plant descriptions do not spring from pure experiential knowledge.

As a humanist, Fuchs wanted to revive classical Greek medicine. He had to rely on copies of ancient pharmacopoeias which had hardly any illustrations. Therefore, it was especially difficult to match the medicinal herbs of antiquity with the native plants.

It is not just in Leonhart Fuchs' work that plants are depicted in a lifelike manner. Hieronymus Bock and Otto Brunfels as well, two contemporaries of Fuchs, strove to achieve illustrations of medicinal herbs that were as true to life as possible. There are also parallels in the texts. Thus, we speak today of the "three fathers of botany".

Select your privacy settings to continue. Please read our privacy policy and imprint for more information.

Leonhart Fuchs - Museum für medizinhistorische Bücher Muri
Leonhart Fuchs

LEONHART FUCHS

NEW KREUTERBUCH, 1543

PRÄZISE HOLZSCHNITTE

Die erste deutsche Ausgabe des „Kreuterbuchs“ von Leonhart Fuchs enthält 512 Holzschnitte. Sie bilden bekannte Heilkräuter eng an der Natur orientiert ab. Über 400 Bilder zeigen einheimische Gewächse. Andere stammen aus dem „neuen“ Kontinent Amerika. Etwa hundert Pflanzen wurden zum ersten Mal in einem schriftlichen Dokument dargestellt.

Die Präzision der Abbildungen, die in dieser Qualität neu war, sollte Verwechslungen bei der medizinischen Anwendung ausschliessen. Neben zwei Verzeichnissen der Pflanzennamen in Deutsch und Lateinisch erleichtert ein Index bekannter Krankheiten das Auffinden des jeweils angesagten Heilmittels.

Das Buch ist in 346 Kapitel eingeteilt, die jeweils eine spezifische Pflanzengattung mit mehreren „Geschlechtern“ vorstellen. Die Beschreibungen folgen einem strikten Schema. Zuerst wird der Name in Deutsch mit seinen lateinischen und griechischen Entsprechungen aufgeführt. Unter dem Begriff „Geschlecht“ werden verschiedene Arten einer übergeordneten Pflanzenfamilie beschrieben. Es folgen die „Gstalt“, die Orte, wo die Pflanze üblicherweise wächst, die Zeit ihrer Blüte und ihre Eigenheiten und Verwendung in der damaligen Medizin.

VEREWIGT IN DER GATTUNG DER FUCHSIEN

Das deutsche „Kreuterbuch“ erzielte grosse Erfolge, was an zahlreichen Auflagen und Übersetzungen sichtbar wird. Die Holzschnitte wurden von anderen Autoren kopiert und übernommen. Die naturgetreue Darstellung der Pflanzen mit Blüten, Früchten, Blättern, Stamm bis hin zu den Wurzeln setzte sich in europäischen Kräuterbüchern durch.

Als Arzt und Kräutersammler räumte Fuchs der medizinischen Anwendung eine zentrale Stellung ein. Damals folgte die Arzneimittellehre mehrheitlich der antiken Humoralpathologie oder Viersäftelehre, die Krankheit als eine Störung des Gleichgewichts der vier Körpersäfte Blut, Gelbe Galle, Schwarze Galle und Schleim interpretierte. Einige Anwendungen entsprechen auch der Signaturenlehre. Um die passende Arznei zu finden, musste man nach äusserlichen Übereinstimmungen suchen. Die Form eines Blatts oder die Farbe eines Pflanzensafts sollten den Menschen Hinweise auf die zu einer bestimmten Krankheit passende Heilpflanze geben. So galt das Schöllkraut mit seinem gelben Saft als probates Mittel zur Vertreibung von Gelbsucht.

Zweihundert Jahre später ordnete Carl von Linné die Pflanzenwelt ebenfalls nach Verwandtschaften und Ähnlichkeiten. Auf Vorschlag eines Franziskanerpaters nannte Linné eine Pflanze nach Leonhart Fuchs „Fuchsia triphylla“, die mit anderen Blumengewächsen zusammen die Gattung der Fuchsien bildet.

EIN ANHÄNGER LUTHERS

Leonhart Fuchs kam 1501 im bayrischen Wemding zur Welt. Er studierte Medizin in Ingolstadt und praktizierte in München. Dort heiratete er 1525 die Patriziertochter Anna Friedberg, mit der er eine grosse Familie mit sechs Mädchen und vier Jungen gründete.

1526 wurde er als Medizinprofessor an die Universität Ingolstadt berufen. Fuchs war ein früher Anhänger des Reformators Martin Luther, der nur ein Jahr zuvor seine erste reformierte Messe gehalten hatte. Er fühlte sich daher an der katholischen Universität Ingolstadt in Feindesland und nahm zwei Jahre später eine Stelle als Leibarzt des Markgrafen von Brandenburg in Ansbach an. 1535 trat er eine Medizinprofessur in Tübingen an, wo er einen Heilkräutergarten anlegte. In Tübingen unterstand er dem Herzog Ulrich von Württemberg, der die Tübinger Universität als erste Institution nach Luthers Vorbild reformieren wollte. Dieser Erwartung kam Fuchs entgegen und wirkte als Dekan und Rektor.

Die Pflanzenbilder, die das Kräuterbuch so berühmt machten, zeichnete Albert Meyer unter der Aufsicht von Fuchs, Heinrich Füllmaurer übertrug die Zeichnungen auf den Holzblock, und der Strassburger Holzschneider Veyt Rudolf Speckle fertigte die Druckstöcke an.

DREI WEGWEISENDE WERKE IN EINEM JAHR

Im Jahr 1543 wurde das Werk „De revolutionibus orbium coelestium“ von Nikolaus Kopernikus gedruckt, das die Sonne in den Mittelpunkt der Planetenbahnen stellt. Im selben Jahr erschien das anatomische Bildwerk „De humani corporis fabrica“ von Andreas Vesalius, mit dem sich das Körperbild veränderte. Und auch das „Kreuterbuch“ von Leonhart Fuchs wurde 1543 gedruckt. Der „Fabrica“ und dem „Kreuterbuch“ ist gemeinsam, dass sie mit eigenen Beobachtungen zur Umgestaltung medizinischer Grundlagen beitrugen.

Das „Kreuterbuch“ wendet sich von der streng dogmatischen Scholastik und der arabischen Medizin des Mittelalters ab. Dennoch entspringen die Pflanzenbeschreibungen nicht reinem Erfahrungswissen. Fuchs wollte als Humanist die klassische griechische Medizin wieder aufblühen lassen. Dabei musste er sich auf Abschriften antiker Arzneibücher abstützen, die jedoch kaum Abbildungen aufwiesen. So war es mit besonderen Schwierigkeiten verbunden, die Heilkräuter aus der Antike der heimischen Pflanzenwelt zuzuordnen.

Die naturnahe Pflanzendarstellung findet sich nicht allein bei Leonhart Fuchs. Auch Hieronymus Bock und Otto Brunfels, zwei Zeitgenossen von Fuchs, strebten möglichst detailgetreue Abbildungen von Heilkräutern an. In den Texten finden sich ebenfalls Parallelen. Es wird daher heute von den „drei Vätern der Botanik“ gesprochen.