Conrad Gessner

CONRAD GESSNER

NOMENCLATOR AQUATILIUM ANIMANTIUM, 1560

CLASSIFICATION IN THE AQUARIUM

Conrad Gessner's "Nomenclator aquatilium animantium", which translates as "Nomenclature of the Aquatic Animals", appeared in 1560 as a handy revision of his fourth "Animal Book", the Latin fish book.

Whereas Gessner describes the animals in alphabetical order in the other animal books, he proceeds with the nomenclature systematically in the fish book. He distinguishes marine animals from freshwater animals and presents classifications based primarily on the outward appearance of the animals. Monsters known from adventure reports and images are also included. Animals which live both in the water and on land are mentioned at the end of the book.

Each treatise starts by naming the animal in different languages. This is followed by descriptions of its way of life, external appearance, and character. Finally, Gessner addresses its use as food or medicine. Each water animal features on a woodcut, which is probably one of the main reasons that the animal books and nomenclature were so popular. Only a few of the images were done by Gessner himself. Gessner thanks the numerous scholars from all over Europe who sent him drawings and descriptions in the foreword.

THE HELPFUL NETWORK

Gessner had only drawn some sea fish after personal observation during a study trip to Montpellier in 1540, and to Venice in the summer of 1543. He therefore worked mainly from his desk. He relied on around 500 publications to be able to describe sea dwellers. Gessner also sent a search list with animal names to his scholarly network in 1548. As soon as a description came in, the corresponding animal name received a little star.

The medical professor Guillaume Rondelet made his work "Libri de piscibus marinis" (1554/1555) available to Gessner for the fish book, and Gessner used about 80% of the woodcuts in his own book. Gessner also took numerous illustrations from the work "De Aquatilibus", which was compiled by the naturalist and physician Pierre Belon (1553). Gessner was guided by Rondelet's and Belon's works in his texts, too.

But Gessner not only gathered descriptions and images but also real animals which his network sent him, sometimes from distant lands. Gessner called the resulting cabinet of curiosities his "Museum".

CITY PHYSICIAN OR NATURALIST?

Conrad Gessner came from a poor family. His owed his career to the support of Zwingli and his student Heinrich Bullinger. However, after an early marriage to Barbara Singysen, he had to interrupt his studies and work as a teacher. After further petitions, he was allowed to study medicine in Basel, which he then interrupted for a professorship in Greek in Lausanne in 1537. In autumn 1540, he returned to Basel for a few months to complete his studies. Finally, Gessner gave lectures at the Carolinum in Zurich and published the "Bibliotheca universalis" in 1545, one of the first printed bibliographies.

After the death of Zurich's city physician in 1552, Gessner was the only academic doctor to apply for the coveted position. He was rejected by his sponsor Bullinger, of all people, with the words: "But the very famous Dr Conrad Gessner would rather give lectures and pursue his scientific publications than listen to the complaints of the ill." The position first went to the surgeon Jacob Ruff. Gessner was not named city physician until two years later. Since Ruff retained nearly all of his duties as city physician, Gessner still had time to do his own research. During this time, he produced the animal books and the nomenclature.

In 1558, the city council promoted him to Canonicus and increased his income. Gessner added an upper floor to his house and had its 15 glass windows painted with water animals. He died there from the plague in 1565.

A PANOPTICON OF ANIMALS

Gessner became famous through his natural history and linguistic works, but primarily through his animal books, the "Historia animalium". He wanted to capture the "immeasurable realm of creation" as completely as possible in word and image with this multi-volume work. Following Aristotle, Gessner divides all living creatures into six main groups: Live-birthing quadrupeds, egg-laying quadrupeds, birds, aquatic animals, snakes and insects.

In contrast to natural scientists like Pierre Belon, Gessner also describes animals that we call fantasy creatures today. Gessner copied a multitude of these fantastic water creatures from the Carta Marina by Olaus Magnus, an early map of Northern Europe. Although he partly doubted their existence himself, he included them in his encyclopaedia nevertheless.

The nomenclature is particularly significant because it names animals in different European languages. Gessner's neologisms were adopted in many cases, which meant they had a lasting impact on zoological nomenclature.

Select your privacy settings to continue. Please read our privacy policy and imprint for more information.

Conrad Gessner

CONRAD GESSNER

NOMENCLATOR AQUATILIUM ANIMANTIUM, 1560

ORDNUNG IM AQUARIUM

Conrad Gessners „Nomenclator aquatilium animantium“, was übersetzt „Benenner der Wassertiere“ heisst, erschien 1560 als handliche Überarbeitung seines vierten „Thierbuchs“, des lateinischen Fischbuchs.

Während Gessner in den anderen Thierbüchern die Tiere in alphabetischer Reihenfolge beschreibt, geht er im Fischbuch bzw. im Nomenclator systematisch vor. Er unterscheidet Meerwassertiere von Süsswassertieren und stellt Ordnungen auf, die sich vorrangig am äusseren Erscheinungsbild der Tiere orientieren. Auch die durch abenteuerliche Berichte und Bilder bekannten Ungeheuer finden ihren Platz. Am Ende des Buchs folgen Tiere, die sowohl im Wasser wie auch auf dem Land leben.

Jede Abhandlung setzt mit der Benennung des Tiers in verschiedenen Sprachen ein. Es folgen Schilderungen der Lebensart, der äusseren Erscheinung und des Charakters. Abschliessend geht Gessner auf die Verwendung als Nahrungsmittel oder Medikament ein. Jedes Wassertier ist auf einem Holzschnitt zu sehen, wohl einer der Hauptgründe, dass die Thierbücher und der Nomenclator so beliebt waren. Nur wenige Bilder stammen von Gessner selber. Zahlreiche Gelehrte aus ganz Europa schicken ihm Zeichnungen und Beschreibungen, wofür sich Gessner im Vorwort bedankt.

DAS HILFREICHE NETZWERK

Gessner hatte nur während eines Studienaufenthalts in Montpellier 1540 und im Sommer 1543 in Venedig einige Meerfische nach eigener Anschauung abgezeichnet. Er arbeitete also hauptsächlich vom Schreibtisch aus. Um die Meeresbewohner beschreiben zu können, stützte er sich auf rund 500 Publikationen ab. Zusätzlich versandte Gessner 1548 eine Suchliste mit Tiernamen an sein Gelehrtennetzwerk. Sobald eine Darstellung eintraf, erhielt der entsprechende Tiername ein Sternchen.

Der Medizinprofessor Guillaume Rondelet stellte Gessner sein Werk „Libri de piscibus marinis“ (1554/1555) für das Fischbuch zur Verfügung, und Gessner übertrug rund 80% der Holzschnitte. Aus dem Werk „De Aquatilibus“ des Naturforschers und Arztes Pierre Belon (1553) entnahm Gessner ebenfalls zahlreiche Illustrationen. Auch in seinen Texten liess sich Gessner von Rondelets und Belons Werken leiten.

STADTARZT ODER NATURFORSCHER?

Conrad Gessner stammte aus einer armen Familie. Seine Laufbahn verdankte er der Unterstützung durch Zwingli und dessen Schüler Heinrich Bullinger. Nach einer frühen Heirat mit Barbara Singysen musste er allerdings seine Studien abbrechen und als Lehrer arbeiten. Nach erneuten Bittschriften wurde ihm ein Medizinstudium in Basel ermöglicht, das er jedoch 1537 für eine Griechischprofessur in Lausanne unterbrach. Im Herbst 1540 kehrte er für wenige Monate nach Basel zurück, um sein Studium zu beenden. Anschliessend hielt Gessner Vorlesungen am Carolinum in Zürich und brachte 1545 die „Bibliotheca universalis“ heraus, eine der ersten gedruckten Bibliografien.

Nach dem Tod des Stadtarztes von Zürich 1552 bewarb sich Gessner als einziger akademischer Arzt auf die ersehnte Stelle. Ausgerechnet von seinem Förderer Bullinger wurde er mit den Worten abgelehnt: „Aber der sehr berühmte Herr Dr. Konrad Gessner hält lieber Vorlesungen und geht seinen wissenschaftlichen Publikationen nach, als dass er die Klagen der Kranken anhört.“ Die Stelle ging vorerst an den Chirurgen Jacob Ruff. Gessner wurde erst zwei Jahre später zum Stadtarzt ernannt. Da Ruff beinahe sämtliche stadtärztlichen Tätigkeitsbereiche beibehielt, blieb Gessner Zeit für eigene Forschungen. In diesen Jahren entstanden die Thierbücher und der Nomenclator.

1558 beförderte ihn der Stadtrat zum Canonicus und hob sein Einkommen an. Gessner erweiterte sein Haus mit einem Obergeschoss, dessen 15 Glasfenster er mit Wassertieren bemalen liess. Dort starb er 1565 an der Pest.

EIN PANOPTIKUM DER TIERE

Gessner wurde durch seine naturkundlichen und sprachwissenschaftlichen Werke bekannt, vor allem durch seine Thierbücher, die „Historia animalium“. Mit diesem Mehrbänder wollte er das „unermessliche Reich der Schöpfung“ so vollständig wie möglich in Wort und Bild erfassen. Aristoteles folgend, unterteilt Gessner sämtliche Lebewesen in sechs Hauptgruppen: Lebendgebärende Vierfüsser, eierlegende Vierfüsser, Vögel, Wassertiere, Schlangen und Insekten.

Im Gegensatz zu Naturforschern wie Pierre Belon beschreibt Gessner auch Tiere, die wir heute als Fantasiewesen bezeichnen. Eine Vielzahl dieser wundersamen Wassertiere kopierte Gessner aus der Carta marina von Olaus Magnus, einer frühen Karte Nordeuropas. Obschon er deren Existenz teilweise selbst bezweifelte, nahm er sie doch in seine Enzyklopädie mit auf.

Die Bedeutung des Nomenclators liegt vor allem in der Benennung der Tiere in verschiedenen europäischen Sprachen. Gessners Wortschöpfungen wurden vielfach übernommen, womit er die zoologische Nomenklatur nachhaltig prägte.

Wählen Sie Ihre Datenschutzeinstellungen um fortzufahren. Lesen Sie bitte unsere Datenschutzerklärung und unser Impressum.