Johannes de Ketham

JOHANNES DE KETHAM

FASCICULUS MEDICINAE, 1513

AN ILLUSTRATED COMPILATION

The work is known under the short title of "Fasciculus Medicinae", which means "bundle of medicine". This is a very early medical compilation comprised of different essays. The first edition and this one were published by the brothers Giovanni and Gregorio Gregorius in Venice, who had already printed two medical works previously.

The essays look at central themes of late medieval medicine.They provide information about diagnostic procedures such as uroscopy and knowledge of the anatomy and gynaecology, treatment such as bloodletting in accordance with astrological rules, the treatment of certain diseases such as the plague, and caring for wounds.

A distinctive feature of the Fasciculus is the rich, colourful imagery: It includes ten high-quality woodcuts that were created as woodcut profiles like drawings. Previously only two medical illustrations had been published: An illustration of the three brain ventricles in "Philosophia naturalis" (Brescia 1490) and a bloodletting diagram in a Flemish collection of surgical texts (Löwen 1481).

The essays were not unknown as manuscripts but were difficult to access. As printed products cost a lot of money, physicians were keen to purchase a collection of different important texts in one single volume. The demand for the publication after it first went into circulation as an incunabulum in 1491 was so high that 20 reprints were published over the next 30 years or so.

A MYSTERIOUS PUBLISHER

Johannes de Ketham (approx. 1415–1470) was neither the author nor the collector of the texts, but rather the publisher. He probably owned one of the manuscripts that he used as a template for printing. Little is known about Ketham himself. It is assumed that he came into the world as Hans Kellner of Kirchheim in Kirchheim unter Teck around 1415 . He later emerges as a professor of medicine in Vienna, where he possibly used and recommended the compilation of texts for his lectures. He supposedly practised as a doctor, was involved in political discussions and died in Ofen in 1470.

The side with the first woodcut includes the name Petrus de Montagnana, professor of surgery in Padua. Otherwise the following are mentioned: Petrus de Taussignano as author of a plague tract, Mundinus de Luzzi an anatomist from Bologna who created the first manuscript containing practical dissecting exercises for his students  in 1316 , as well as Rhazes, a doctor and philosopher in Persia in the 9th and 10th centuries, one of the most renowned Arabian physicians as author of an essay on childhood illnesses. The name Ketham features alongside the description stating that the compiled essays are from renowned physicians

A LONG SELLER FROM THE LATE MIDDLE AGES

This work refers to a text collection containing two medieval transcripts. The manuscripts were first published as an incunabulum in 1491. Up until that point, calendars and single-page documents with medical explanations had been published, but no illustrated books. Within a few years, several editions emerged with translations into various European languages.

Ketham did not describe himself as a "Medicus" but rather as a "Dominus Alamanus". He therefore did not join the ranks of the famous authors, but rather published the texts. The Fasciculus follows the tradition of scholasticism, the forwarding of knowledge content without reviewing said knowledge independently.

However, the woodcuts were innovative at the time. The artists sketched the complex drawings in linear form onto the wooden printing block. Then the printing block was dyed so that the lines were filled with ink and pressed onto paper. The flat image compositions are impressive since they feature many details and are finely elaborated.

INSIGHTS INTO MEDIEVAL BODY IMAGES

The Fasciculus provides an opportunity to become familiar with the body and medical concepts of the Middle Ages. Mankind was perceived as part of the divine world, a microcosmos in the macrocosmos of the universe.

There were few trained doctors during the Middle Ages as there were only a limited number of universities. They introduce themselves in text and image as teachers, anatomists and attending physicians. The woodcuts also illustrate patients and carers who are following the instructions of their doctor. The emergence and treatment of illnesses centred around the Doctrine of the Four Juices (humoral pathology), which depended on the signs of the zodiac and the seasons. Bloodletting had to be done at the right time and on the relevant parts of the body. The inside of the body was largely unknown despite the high number of deaths, and knowledge of the female body was even tabooed as secret. The Fasciculus looks in detail at injuries, childhood illnesses and the plague, which were all considered a real danger.

Select your privacy settings to continue. Please read our privacy policy and imprint for more information.

Johannes de Ketham - Museum für medizinhistorische Bücher Muri
Johannes de Ketham

JOHANNES DE KETHAM

FASCICULUS MEDICINAE, 1513

EIN ILLUSTRIERTES SAMMELWERK

Das Werk ist unter dem Kurztitel „Fasciculus Medicinae“ bekannt, was „Bündel der Medizin“ bedeutet. Es handelt sich um ein sehr frühes medizinisches Sammelwerk, das aus unterschiedlichen Abhandlungen besteht. Die erste wie auch die vorliegende Ausgabe erschienen bei den Brüdern Giovanni und Gregorio Gregorius in Venedig, die bereits zuvor zwei medizinische Werke gedruckt hatten.

Die Abhandlungen greifen zentrale Themen der spätmittelalterlichen Medizin auf. Sie geben Auskunft über diagnostische Verfahren wie die Uroskopie und über Wissenswertes aus der Anatomie und Frauenheilkunde, über Behandlungen wie den Aderlass nach astrologischen Vorschriften, über die Therapie besonderer Krankheiten wie der Pest oder über die Versorgung von Wunden.

Eine Besonderheit des Fasciculus ist die reiche, hier farbige Bebilderung: Er enthält zehn Holzschnitte in hoher Qualität, die als Linienholzschnitte wie Zeichnungen hergestellt wurden. Zuvor waren erst zwei medizinische Illustrationen publiziert worden: Eine Darstellung der drei Hirnventrikel in der Philosophia naturalis (Brescia 1490) und eine Aderlassfigur in einer flämischen Sammlung chirurgischer Texte (Löwen 1481).

Die Abhandlungen waren als Handschriften nicht unbekannt, aber schwer zugänglich. Da Druckerzeugnisse viel Geld kosteten, war es für Mediziner attraktiv, eine Sammlung verschiedener wichtiger Texte in einem einzigen Band zu kaufen. Die Nachfrage nach dem Werk nach seiner Erstauflage als Inkunabel (Wiegendruck) 1491 war derart gross, dass innerhalb von rund 30 Jahren 20 Neuauflagen gedruckt wurden.

EIN GEHEIMNISVOLLER HERAUSGEBER

Johannes de Ketham (ca. 1415- 1470) war weder der Autor noch der Sammler der Texte, sondern der Herausgeber. Er besass wahrscheinlich eine der Handschriften, die er als Vorlage für den Druck verwendete. Von Ketham selbst ist wenig bekannt. Man geht davon aus, dass er als Hans Kellner von Kirchheim ca. 1415 in Kirchheim unter Teck zur Welt kam. Später taucht er in Wien als Medizinprofessor auf, wo er die Textsammlung möglicherweise für seine Vorlesungen brauchte und weiterempfahl. Er praktizierte vermutlich als Arzt, war in politische Auseinandersetzungen involviert und starb 1470 in Ofen.

Die Seite mit dem ersten Holzschnitt trägt den Namen Petrus de Montagnana, Chirurgieprofessor in Padua. Ansonsten werden erwähnt: Petrus de Taussignano als Autor eines Pesttraktats, Mundinus de Luzzi, ein Anatom aus Bologna, der 1316 als erster Autor eine Handschrift mit praktischen Sezierübungen für seine Studierenden verfasste, sowie Rhazes, Arzt und Philosoph in Persien im 9. und 10. Jh., einer der bekanntesten arabischen Mediziner, als Autor einer Abhandlung über Krankheiten der Kinder. Der Name Ketham findet sich neben der Beschreibung, die besagt, dass die zusammengetragenen Abhandlungen von berühmten Ärzten stammen.

EIN LONGSELLER AUS DEM SPÄTMITTELALTER

Das vorliegende Werk geht auf eine Textsammlung zurück, von der zwei mittelalterliche Abschriften existierten. 1491 kam eine der Handschriften erstmals als Wiegendruck heraus. Bis dahin waren Kalender und Einblattdrucke mit medizinischen Ausführungen publiziert worden, nicht aber illustrierte Bücher. Innerhalb von wenigen Jahren entstanden mehrere Auflagen und Übersetzungen in zahlreiche europäische Landessprachen.

Ketham bezeichnete sich nicht als „Medicus“, sondern als „Dominus Alamanus“. Er reihte sich damit nicht in die Liste der berühmten Autoren ein, sondern gab die Texte heraus. Der Fasciculus steht in der Tradition der Scholastik, der Weitergabe von Wissensinhalten ohne eigene Überprüfung.

Die Holzschnitte dagegen waren damals innovativ. Der Künstler ritzte die komplexen Zeichnungen in Linienform in den hölzernen Druckstock. Dann wurde der Druckstock eingefärbt, so dass sich die Linien mit Druckerfarbe füllten, und danach auf Papier gepresst. Die flächenförmigen Bildkompositionen beeindrucken durch die vielen Details und die feine Ausarbeitung.

EINBLICKE IN MITTELALTERLICHE KÖRPERBILDER

Der Fasciculus bietet Gelegenheit, die Körpervorstellungen und Medizinkonzepte des Mittelalters kennen zu lernen. Der Mensch wurde als Teil der göttlichen Welt, als ein Mikrokosmos im Makrokosmos des Universums, wahrgenommen.

Studierte Ärzte waren im Mittelalter selten, da erst wenige Universitäten existierten. Sie präsentieren sich in Text und Bild als Lehrer, Anatomen und als behandelnde Ärzte. Die Holzschnitte bilden auch Patienten und Pflegende ab, die den ärztlichen Anweisungen folgen. Die Entstehung und Behandlung von Krankheiten orientierten sich an der Viersäftelehre, die in Abhängigkeit von den Tierkreiszeichen und den Jahreszeiten stand. Die Entnahme von Blut (Aderlass) musste zur richtigen Zeit und an der zugehörigen Körperstelle durchgeführt werden. Das Innere des Körpers war trotz häufiger Todesfälle weitgehend unbekannt und beim weiblichen Körper sogar als Geheimwissen tabuisiert. Als besonders bedrohlich galten vor allem Verletzungen, Krankheiten im Kindesalter und die Pest, auf die der Fasciculus speziell eingeht.