Maria Sibylla Merian - Caterpillars

MARIA SIBYLLA MERIAN

THE WONDERFUL METAMORPHOSIS AND PECULIAR FLOWER FOOD OF CATERPILLARS, 1679

THE AUTHOR IS PRESENT

“The wonderful metamorphosis and peculiar flower food of caterpillars” is Maria Sibylla Merian’s first scientific work. It is published in 1679 in a small edition and on plain paper through the publisher run by her husband Johann Andreas Graff. Only very few copies have survived to this day.

The work comprises 102 pages with fifty etchings, which Merian numbers, describes and names after the plants that are illustrated. The present copy was coloured by Merian herself. With precise brushstrokes she captures the finest hues from the whole range of colours available to her at the time.

The texts and images are based on observations which Merian had recorded in her journals since early childhood. The objects of her research are plants and insects from the surroundings of Frankfurt and Nuremberg. The texts describe the mode of life of the caterpillars and their metamorphosis. The images also illustrate the developmental stages of the insects around the host plant. In no other work is Maria Sibylla Merian so intensely present as a scientist and artist, as every step of her work – from the first notes to the book coloured in her own hand – bears her very personal touch.

UNCONVENTIONAL VIEWS

While other natural scientists of the time emphasise the systematic classification of individual species according to morphological criteria, and for this purpose dissect animals into their component parts, Maria Sibylla Merian observes the living insects. With this approach, she identifies contexts and characteristic behaviour such as diurnal or nocturnal activity, reproduction and development, specific nutrition and infestation by parasites. She also constantly adds to her earlier records in text and images.

She notes her observations in the first person, states the dates and times as precisely as possible, and records the detailed appearance, locomotion and other distinctive features of the insects. Although these descriptions are presented in a very personal style, they meet the criteria of scientific records by providing exact information.

At the centre of each of the images the host plant is shown. This forms the principal source of food for the respective caterpillar, serves as shelter for the pupa during metamorphosis, and later as the place of departure on the first flight, and as the place where the eggs of the winged insect are deposited. Thus Merian groups the animals around the central plant, while depicting them as true to scale as possible. Merian first presents this type of scientific illustration in the caterpillar book, and she retains it later on.

ARTIST AND SCIENTIST

Maria Sibylla Merian was born in 1647 in Frankfurt am Main, daughter to the painter and copperplate engraver Matthäus Merian the Elder. She loses her father at the age of three. Her talents are, however, encouraged by her stepfather, the flower painter Jacob Marrel. From her childhood she collects caterpillars, breeding them and documenting their mode of life.

After marrying the painter and publisher Johann Andreas Graff, Merian and her family move to Nuremberg, where she founds an art school for young women, trades in painting utensils and publishes the first works through her husband’s publisher. In the meantime, she becomes the mother of two girls, Johanna Helena and Dorothea Maria. In 1685, she separates from her husband. Along with her mother and her two daughters, she joins the pietistic community of the Labadists at Waltha Castle in Friesland. Here she encounters insect collections from Suriname, a Dutch colony in northern South America, and learns Latin.

In 1691, Merian and her daughters move to Amsterdam. Together with her younger daughter, she boldly goes on an expedition to Suriname at the age of 52, to observe butterflies there in their natural habitat. After a stay of two years, she returns to Amsterdam very ill, but with numerous sketches, drawings and specimens. After her recovery, Merian organises an exhibition and becomes known throughout Europe. She publishes her findings in 1705 in a folio “Metamorphosis Insectorum Surinamensium”, which attracts a great deal of interest.

Supported by her younger daughter, Merian again turns to the study of European insects. In the last three years of her life Merian is left paralysed, but with the help of her younger daughter she completes the third volume of the caterpillar book and prepares the complete edition. As her life work, this is published in Dutch and Latin after her death.

WORKING IN MISOGYNOUS TIMES

Maria Sibylla Merian lives in a time when women are still being persecuted and executed as witches. Women are considered inferior in everyday life, in religion, law and science. They cannot pursue any official vocational training – except as a midwife – and certainly not study at a university. Nevertheless, Merian manages to lead an extraordinary life in every respect, as an independent woman, artist and scientist.

Thanks to her family's support she is able to learn arts and crafts. She skilfully avoids the restrictions of the craft associations, runs her own art school, maintains her family and develops a new technique of illustration. Because the universities were closed to women, Merian acquires the scientific background for her insect research through self-study. She investigates early microscopy and reads the works of entomologists available at the time. She succeeds in establishing her network in the European scholarly world. With her original descriptions and observations of life processes, she gives a new and lasting stimulus to entomology. A number of plants and insects are later named after her.

Merian also dares to take unconventional paths in her private life. She divorces, leaves her home country, takes care of the family herself and goes on a dangerous expedition for two years without a male companion. This independence finds a continuation in her daughters, both of whom work as artists.

Select your privacy settings to continue. Please read our privacy policy and imprint for more information.

Maria Sibylla Merian - Raupen

MARIA SIBYLLA MERIAN

DER RAUPEN WUNDERBARE VERWANDELUNG UND SONDERBARE BLUMEN-NAHRUNG, 1679

DIE AUTORIN IST PRÄSENT

„Der Raupen wunderbare Verwandelung und sonderbare Blumen-nahrung“ ist Maria Sibylla Merians erstes wissenschaftliches Werk. Es erscheint 1679 in kleiner Auflage und auf einfachem Papier im Verlag ihres Ehemanns Johann Andreas Graff. Bis heute sind nur sehr wenige Exemplare erhalten geblieben.

Das Werk umfasst 102 Seiten mit fünfzig Radierungen, die Merian durchnummeriert, beschreibt und nach den abgebildeten Pflanzen benennt. Das vorliegende Exemplar wurde von Merian selber koloriert. Mit präziser Pinselführung hält sie feinste Schattierungen aus dem ganzen ihr damals verfügbaren Farbenspektrum fest.

Texte und Bilder bauen auf Beobachtungen auf, die Merian seit früher Jugend in ihren Studienbüchern aufgezeichnet hat. Ihre Untersuchungsobjekte sind Pflanzen und Insekten aus der Umgebung von Frankfurt und Nürnberg. Die Texte beschreiben die Lebensweise der Raupen und ihre Metamorphose. Ergänzend illustrieren die Bilder die Entwicklungsstadien der Insekten rund um die Futterpflanze. In keinem anderen Werk ist Maria Sibylla Merian als Wissenschaftlerin und Künstlerin derart intensiv präsent, trägt doch jeder Arbeitsschritt – von den ersten Aufzeichnungen bis zum eigenhändig kolorierten Buch – ihre ganz persönliche Prägung.

UNKONVENTIONELLE PERSPEKTIVEN

Während damalige Naturforscher die Systematisierung einzelner Lebewesen nach morphologischen Kriterien anstreben und Tiere hierfür in Einzelteile zerlegen, beobachtet Maria Sibylla Merian die lebenden Insekten. Mit dieser Herangehensweise erkennt sie Zusammenhänge und charakteristische Verhaltensweisen wie Tag- oder Nachtaktivität, Fortpflanzung und Entwicklung, spezifische Ernährung oder den Befall durch Parasiten. Zudem ergänzt sie fortlaufend frühere Aufzeichnungen in Text und Bild.

Ihre Beobachtungen notiert sie in der Ich-Form, macht möglichst genaue Zeitangaben und hält detailliert Aussehen, Fortbewegung und weitere Eigenheiten der Insekten fest. Obschon diese Schilderungen in einem sehr persönlichen Stil gehalten sind, erfüllen sie durch die exakten Angaben die Kriterien wissenschaftlicher Aufzeichnungen.

Im Mittelpunkt der Bilder ist jeweils die Futterpflanze zu sehen. Sie bildet die Ernährungsgrundlage der jeweiligen Raupe, das Obdach der Puppe während der Metamorphose und später den Ort des Abflugs und der Eiablage des geflügelten Insekts. Entsprechend gruppiert Merian die Tiere, die sie möglichst massstabsgetreu abbildet, um die zentrale Pflanze. Diese Art der wissenschaftlichen Darstellung setzt Merian im Raupenbuch erstmals um und behält sie später bei.

KÜNSTLERIN UND WISSENSCHAFTLERIN

Maria Sibylla Merian kommt 1647 als Tochter des Malers und Kupferstechers Matthäus Merian des Älteren in Frankfurt am Main zur Welt. Als Dreijährige verliert sie ihren Vater. Ihre Talente werden jedoch von ihrem Stiefvater, dem Blumenmaler Jacob Marrel, gefördert. Seit ihrer Kindheit sammelt sie Raupen, züchtet sie und dokumentiert ihre Lebensweise.

Nach der Heirat mit dem Maler und Verleger Johann Andreas Graff zieht die Familie nach Nürnberg, wo Merian eine Kunstschule für junge Frauen gründet, mit Malutensilien handelt und im Verlag ihres Mannes erste Werke herausgibt. Inzwischen ist sie Mutter zweier Mädchen, Johanna Helena und Dorothea Maria. 1685 trennt sie sich von ihrem Mann. Gemeinsam mit ihrer Mutter und den beiden Töchtern schliesst sie sich der pietistischen Gruppierung der Labadisten auf Schloss Waltha in Friesland an. Hier stösst sie auf Insektensammlungen aus Surinam, einer holländischen Kolonie im Norden Südamerikas, und lernt Latein.

1691 zieht Merian mit den Töchtern nach Amsterdam. Zusammen mit ihrer jüngeren Tochter wagt sie als 52-Jährige eine Expedition nach Surinam, um dort Schmettelinge in der Natur zu beobachten. Nach zweijährigem Aufenthalt kehrt sie schwer krank, aber mit zahlreichen Skizzen, Aufzeichnungen und Präparaten nach Amsterdam zurück. Nach ihrer Genesung realisiert Merian eine Ausstellung und wird in ganz Europa bekannt. Ihre Erkenntnisse publiziert sie 1705 in einem aufsehenerregenden Folianten «Metamorphosis Insectorum Surinamensium».

Unterstützt von ihrer jüngeren Tochter, wendet sich Merian wieder der Erforschung der europäischen Insekten zu. In den letzten drei Lebensjahren ist Merian gelähmt, vollendet aber mit Hilfe ihrer jüngeren Tochter den dritten Band des Raupenbuchs und bereitet die Gesamtausgabe vor. Dieses Lebenswerk erscheint nach ihrem Tod in Holländisch und Latein.

WIRKEN IN EINER FRAUENFEINDLICHEN ZEIT

Maria Sibylla Merian lebt in einer Zeit, in der Frauen noch immer als Hexen verfolgt und hingerichtet werden. In Alltag, Religion, Recht und Wissenschaft gelten Frauen als minderwertig. Sie können – mit Ausnahme des Hebammenberufs – keine offizielle Berufsausbildung und erst recht kein Studium an einer Hochschule durchlaufen. Dennoch gelingt es Merian, ein in jeder Hinsicht aussergewöhnliches Leben als eigenständige Frau, Künstlerin und Wissenschaftlerin zu führen.

Dank familiärer Förderung erlernt sie das Kunsthandwerk. Sie umgeht geschickt die Einschränkungen der Handwerksvereinigungen, führt eine eigene Kunstschule, unterhält ihre Familie und entwickelt eine neue Illustrationsmethode. Da Universitäten Frauen verschlossen bleiben, erwirbt Merian die wissenschaftlichen Hintergründe zu ihren Insektenforschungen im Selbststudium. Sie befasst sich mit der frühen Mikroskopie, liest Werke damaliger Insektenforscher. Es gelingt ihr, sich in der europäischen Gelehrtenwelt zu vernetzen. Mit ihren Erstbeschreibungen und Beobachtungen der Lebensvorgänge verleiht sie der Insektenforschung neue und nachhaltige Impulse. Mehrere Pflanzen und Insekten werden später nach ihr benannt.

Auch im Privatleben wagt Merian unkonventionelle Wege. Sie lässt sich scheiden, verlässt ihr Heimatland, kommt selber für die Familie auf und begibt sich für zwei Jahre ohne männliche Begleitung auf eine gefährliche Expedition. Diese Eigenständigkeit findet in ihren Töchtern, die beide als Künstlerinnen tätig sind, eine Fortsetzung.

Wählen Sie Ihre Datenschutzeinstellungen um fortzufahren. Lesen Sie bitte unsere Datenschutzerklärung und unser Impressum.