Apuleius Platonicus

APULEIUS PLATONICUS

INCIPIT HERBARIUM, 1481

AN ALTERNATIVE TO DANGEROUS DOCTORS

The Herbarius by Apuleius Platonicus was printed around 1481 as an incunabulum. These prints frequently have no actual title. However, in order to unequivocally identify them, they were usually named with the first words of the printed text. This incunabulum is entitled "Incipit Herbarium", whereby "Incipit" merely means "It begins".

The publication of the manuscript from late antiquity was intended to improve medical care. The author is extremely derisive of the medical profession in the prologue to the work, in which he distances himself from those physicians whom he identifies as inexperienced and greedy for gain. The Herbarius is supposed to enable the reader to escape these dangerous physicians and cure himself.

The main section describes 129 medicinal herbs, three of which (heliotrope, comfrey and rue) appear twice under two different names. After that follows a chapter on the fantastic herb basilisca, one on special medicinal pastilles and one on the magical mandrake root.

HERBAL KNOWLEDGE OF LATE ANTIQUITY

As a practical medical work, the Herbarius is deliberately directed towards lay people. It is considered one of the most important medicinal herbals of the European Middle Ages.

The work is based largely on the pharmaceutical knowledge of Dioscorides and the "Naturalis Historia" of Pliny the Elder. The original manuscript originated as a revision and merging of these two ancient works in the 4th century A.D. It must have been very popular - today, almost fifty manuscripts are known to exist. They often contain their own recipes, which points to the work's use in everyday life. This printing was based on a manuscript from the 9th century which belonged to the Benedictine monastery at Monte Cassino, which was destroyed during bombing in the Second World War.

UNDER A PSEUDONYM

Apuleius of Madauros was a poet of Roman antiquity who lived in the second century after Christ, in what is today Algeria. Today, scholars generally agree that the Herbarius cannot have been written by Apuleius. The author, a Platonist of late antiquity, took on the pseudonym "Pseudo-Apuleius", "Apuleius Barbarus" or "Apuleius Platonicus".

The work indicates that it comes from "Ciro", meaning the centaur Chiron, a figure of Greek mythology. Half man, half horse, he brought the healing arts to the physician-god Aesculapius and other deities. With the reference to Chiron, the herbal is endowed with a supernatural mystique, and its contents are upgraded to divine wisdom.

The first editions of the Herbarius were published by Johannes Philippus de Lignamine, personal physician to Pope Sixtus IV and the first Italian book printer. The close connection to the papal court enabled him to run a print shop in Rome, where he mainly printed religious works.

MEDICINES FOR THE PRACTICE

The Herbarius was a medieval best seller. What made this book so popular?

The listing of the plants does not follow any alphabetical order, as in the treatises of Theophrastus or Dioscorides. The medicinal herbs are grouped according to diseases. Because of their close association with the treatment of different ailments, it becomes clear that this was a practical pharmacopoeia.

The plant illustrations also contributed to the popularity of the Herbarius. Even today, the schematisation of the woodcuts, which focuses on the most important features, is impressive.

However, these revisions also brought disadvantages with them. The new order first listed the ailments "from head to foot", followed by superordinate disease patterns such as sleep disorders, epilepsy, mental illnesses or cancer. As soon as a plant was used to combat different ailments, however, the reader had to know the relevant disease which was named first in order to find the correct place in the book. In addition, the illustrations were so abstract that it was difficult to equate them to real plants.

Select your privacy settings to continue. Please read our privacy policy and imprint for more information.

Apuleius Platonicus - Museum für medizinhistorische Bücher Muri
Apuleius Platonicus

APULEIUS PLATONICUS

INCIPIT HERBARIUM, 1481

ALTERNATIVE ZU GEFÄHRLICHEN ÄRZTEN

Der Herbarius von Apuleius Platonicus wurde etwa 1481 als Inkunabel gedruckt. Diese Drucke weisen häufig keine eigentlichen Titel auf. Um sie dennoch eindeutig zuzuordnen, erfolgte ihre Benennung in der Regel mit den ersten Wörtern des gedruckten Textes. Diese Inkunabel wird „Incipit Herbarium“ betitelt, wobei „Incipit“ lediglich „Es beginnt“ bedeutet.  

Die Publikation der spätantiken Handschrift sollte die medizinische Versorgung verbessern. Der Prolog des Werks enthält eine deftige Ärzteschelte, worin sich der Autor von jenen Ärzten distanziert, die er als unerfahren und gewinnsüchtig bezeichnet. Der Herbarius soll der Leserschaft ermöglichen, diesen gefährlichen Ärzten zu entkommen und sich selbst zu kurieren.  

Im Hauptteil werden 129 Heilkräuter beschrieben, wobei drei Arzneipflanzen (Sonnenwende, Beinwell und Raute) doppelt unter zwei verschiedenen Namen vorkommen. Danach folgen ein Kapitel über das fantastische Basilisca-Kraut, eines über spezielle Heilpastillen und eines über die magische Alraune.

KRÄUTERWISSEN AUS DER SPÄTANTIKE

Der Herbarius wendet sich als medizinpraktisches Werk bewusst an Laien. Er gilt als eines der wichtigsten Heilkräuterbücher des europäischen Mittelalters.

Das Werk basiert weitgehend auf der Arzneimittelkunde von Dioskurides sowie auf der „Naturalis Historia“ von Plinius d.Ä. Die ursprüngliche Handschrift entstand als Überarbeitung und Zusammenführung dieser beiden antiken Werke im 4. Jahrhundert n. Chr. Sie muss sehr beliebt gewesen sein, sind heute doch fast fünfzig Abschriften bekannt. Oft enthalten sie eigene Rezepte, was auf die Verwendung des Werks im Alltag hinweist. Dem vorliegenden Druck lag eine Handschrift aus dem 9. Jahrhundert zugrunde, die dem Benediktinerkloster auf dem Monte Cassino gehörte und während der Bombardierungen im Zweiten Weltkrieg zerstört wurde.

UNTER PSEUDONYM

Apuleius von Madauros war ein Dichter der römischen Antike, der im 2. Jh. n. Chr. im heutigen Algerien lebte. Heute ist man sich einig, dass der Herbarius nicht von Apuleius stammen kann. Der Autor, ein spätantiker Platoniker, wird nach seinem Pseudonym „Pseudo-Apuleius“, „Apuleius Barbarus“ oder „Apuleius Platonicus“ genannt.

Das Werk gibt vor, es stamme von „Ciro“ ab, womit der Kentaur Chiron gemeint ist, eine Sagengestalt der griechischen Mythologie. Halb Mensch, halb Pferd, brachte er dem Arztgott Äskulap und anderen Gottheiten die Heilkunde bei. Mit dem Verweis auf Chiron erhält das Kräuterbuch einen überirdischen Nimbus, seine Inhalte werden zu göttlichen Weisheiten aufgewertet.

Der Herbarius erschien in den ersten Auflagen bei Johannes Philippus de Lignamine, Leibarzt von Papst Sixtus IV. und erster italienischer Buchdrucker. Durch die enge Verbindung zum päpstlichen Hofstaat gelang es ihm, in Rom eine Druckerei zu führen, wo er in erster Linie religiöse Werke druckte.

ARZNEI FÜR DIE PRAXIS

Der Herbarius war ein mittelalterlicher Bestseller. Was machte dieses Buch so beliebt?

Die Auflistung der Pflanzen folgt keiner alphabetischen Ordnung wie in den Abhandlungen eines Theophrastus oder Dioskurides. Die Heilkräuter sind nach Krankheiten gruppiert. Mit ihrer engen Zuordnung zur Behandlung verschiedener Leiden wird deutlich, dass es sich um ein praktisches Arzneibuch handelt.

Die Pflanzenillustrationen trugen ebenfalls zur Beliebtheit des Herbarius’ bei. Noch heute beeindrucken die Holzschnitte durch eine Schematisierung, die sich auf die wichtigsten Merkmale konzentriert.

Allerdings brachten diese Erneuerungen auch Nachteile mit sich. Die neue Ordnung listete zuerst die Leiden „von Kopf bis Fuss“ auf, dann folgten übergeordnete Krankheitsbilder wie Schlafstörungen, Fallsucht, seelisch-geistige Krankheiten oder Krebsleiden. Sobald eine Pflanze aber gegen unterschiedliche Leiden eingesetzt wurde, musste man das ordnungsrelevante erstgenannte Leiden kennen, um die richtige Stelle im Buch zu finden. Zudem waren die Illustrationen derart abstrakt, dass sie nur schwer mit der realen Pflanze in Verbindung gebracht werden konnten.