Johann Jakob Scheuchzer

JOHANN JAKOB SCHEUCHZER

KUPFER-BIBEL ODER PHYSICA SACRA, 4 BÄNDE, 1731-1735

THE KUPFER-BIBEL AS A MONUMENTAL WORK

The four-volume work comprises over 2000 pages and 750 copper plates. The complete title of the German edition, which appeared parallel to the Latin edition, is "Copper Bible, in which the Physica sacra or sacred natural science of the natural things occurring in the Holy Scriptures is clearly explained and proven". The purpose of the Kupfer-Bibel was to prove the existence of God via the natural science of that time.

This theological undertaking is reflected in the overall concept of the work. The Bible provides the framework on which the content and order of the chapters are based. Central to each chapter is a biblical quote, illustrated with a lavishly produced copper plate engraving.

There are three different types of copper plate engraving:
1. The illustration of individual objects in front of a deep spatial landscape in a fanciful frame. 2. The illustration of three-dimensional objects in a simple frame. 3. Simpler, unframed illustrations.

CENSORED IN ZURICH

The censoring authority in Zurich, which consisted of reformed theologians, vehemently opposed theories that could question the myth of Creation. When Scheuchzer was working on his previous work, the "Physica sacra Iobi" (Job's Physica sacra), this authority demanded that all references to the Copernican planetary doctrine be removed, which he had no choice but to obey. This authority was probably the reason why the Kupfer-Bibel was printed in Augsburg rather than in the Confederation.

This authority was still active when Scheuchzer sent the first manuscripts of the Physica sacra to press. Therefore, at the beginning of the work, he declared the cosmological model according to the "principles of Corpernicus" to be irrefutable. However, it was these very printed sheets that Scheuchzer sent out to the publisher prior to the first examination by the censors, so that only the remainder of the work could be examined. To protect himself theologically, Scheuchzer also included a comprehensive 34-page directory of theological works. The Copernican world view did not gain official approval in Zurich until Scheuchzer occupied the Chair of Physics at the Carolinum, shortly before his death.

Despite Scheuchzer's difficulties with the reformed censors, in the end, the Kupfer-Bibel no longer met the demands of the scientific society at that time. Studies of contemporary reactions to Scheuchzer's Physica sacra indicate that the monumental work was already considered outdated when it appeared.

CITY PHYSICIAN AND UNIVERSAL SCHOLAR

Johann Jakob Scheuchzer (1672–1733) was a member of the author group consisting of city physicians and universal scholars. He completed his medical studies in Altdorf bei Nuremberg and in Utrecht. At 23 years of age, he became an orphanage doctor, and thus one of four public medical officers in Zurich. In addition, he took up the position of professor of mathematics, was curator of the Chamber of Art, a collection of natural objects in the Wasserkirche of Zurich, was responsible for the valuable Bürgerbibliothek (Citizen's Library), and participated actively in the cultural life of the city. He did not obtain the coveted position of physics professor until shortly before his death.

In 1697, Scheuchzer married the dyer's daughter Susanna Vogel. The pair had seven sons and one daughter, but only four boys survived childhood. 

The Kupfer-Bibel was a major project that could only be completed through the complex collaboration of various people. The engraver and publisher Johann Andreas Pfeffel worked closely with Scheuchzer. The painter and friend of Scheuchzer, Johann Melchior Fuessli, drew most of the plates according to guidelines, but sometimes using pieces from different publications of that time, which he adapted. The Latin text is from Scheuchzer himself. His Swiss Standard German was translated into Standard German by a pastor. The frame images designed by Johann Daniel Preissler are historically noteworthy. Many other artists were also involved.   

PROOF OF GOD THROUGH THE STUDY OF NATURE

Scheuchzer writes in his preface: "I sought to link the venerable holiness of the Revelation with the ornament and art of nature."

While other natural scientists distanced themselves from a theological interpretation of the world, Scheuchzer, as a physicist-theologian, wanted to use the knowledge of nature for theological purposes. The goal of the physicist-theologian was to provide proof of God with natural scientific arguments. The dominant mechanistic world view was not an obstacle here because the physicist-theologian detected God's will behind the mechanical workings. Both animate and inanimate nature is the idea and work of God, which is not to be examined but rather illustrated in its glory. The perfection of nature is interpreted as proof of the existence of God.

Select your privacy settings to continue. Please read our privacy policy and imprint for more information.

Johann Jakob Scheuchzer - Museum für medizinhistorische Bücher Muri
Johann Jakob Scheuchzer

JOHANN JAKOB SCHEUCHZER

KUPFER-BIBEL ODER PHYSICA SACRA, 4 BÄNDE, 1731-1735

DIE KUPFER-BIBEL ALS MONUMENTALWERK

Das vierbändige Werk umfasst über 2000 Seiten und 750 Kupfertafeln. Der vollständige Titel der deutschen Ausgabe, die parallel zur lateinischen erschienen ist, lautet: «Kupfer-Bibel, in welcher die Physica sacra oder geheiligte Natur-Wissenschaft derer in heil. Schrift vorkommenden natürlichen Sachen deutlich erklärt und bewährt.» Sinn der Kupfer-Bibel war es, mit damaligem Naturwissen die Existenz Gottes zu beweisen.

Dieses theologische Unterfangen spiegelt sich in der Gesamtkonzeption des Werks: Die Bibel bildet das Gerüst, an dem sich die Kapitel in Inhalt und Reihenfolge orientieren. Im Zentrum jedes Kapitels steht ein Bibelzitat, illustriert mit einem aufwendig hergestellten Kupferstich.

Die Kupferstiche können drei unterschiedlichen Typen zugeordnet werden: 1. Darstellung einzelner Objekte vor einer tiefenräumlichen Landschaft in einem fantasiereichen Rahmen, 2. Darstellung dreidimensionaler Objekte in einem einfachen Rahmen, 3. einfachere, ungerahmte Darstellung.

ZÜRICH ZENSURIERT

Die Zensurbehörde in Zürich, bestehend aus reformierten Theologen, wehrte sich vehement gegen Theorien, die den Schöpfungsmythos hätten in Frage stellen können. Als Scheuchzer am Vorgängerwerk, der «Physica sacra Iobi» (Hiobs Physica sacra) arbeitete, verlangte diese Behörde, alle Bezüge zur kopernikanischen Planetenlehre zu entfernen, was er notgedrungen befolgte. Diese Behörde war wohl der Grund, warum die Kupfer-Bibel in Augsburg - und nicht in der Eidgenossenschaft - gedruckt wurde.

Während Scheuchzer die ersten Manuskripte der Physica Sacra in den Druck gab, war diese Behörde noch immer aktiv. Dennoch bekannte er zu Beginn des Werks, das kosmologische Modell nach den «Grund-Sätzen des Copernici» sei unbestreitbar. Gerade diese Druckbögen aber hatte Scheuchzer noch vor der ersten Einvernahme durch die Zensurbehörde dem Verlag ausgeliefert, so dass nur der Rest des Werks überprüft werden konnte. Um sich theologisch abzusichern, hatte Scheuchzer zudem ein umfassendes Verzeichnis theologischer Werke aufgeführt, das 34 Seiten füllt. Erst als Scheuchzer kurz vor seinem Tod die Physikprofessur am Carolinum besetzte, hielt das kopernikanische Weltbild offiziell in Zürich Einzug.

Trotz Scheuchzers Schwierigkeiten mit der reformierten Zensurbehörde entsprach die Kupfer-Bibel letztlich nicht mehr den damaligen Ansprüchen der Wissensgesellschaft. Untersuchungen von zeitgenössischen Reaktionen auf Scheuchzers Physica sacra weisen darauf hin, dass das Monumentalwerk schon beim Erscheinen als überholt galt.

STADTARZT UND UNIVERSALGELEHRTER

Johann Jakob Scheuchzer (1672-1733) gehört zur Autorengruppe der Stadtärzte und Universalgelehrten. Er absolvierte ein Medizinstudium in Altdorf bei Nürnberg und in Utrecht. Mit 23 Jahren wurde er Waisenhausarzt und damit einer der vier  Zürcher Amtsärzte. Zusätzlich nahm er die Position eines Mathematikprofessors ein, war Kurator der Kunstkammer, einer Naturaliensammlung in der Wasserkirche Zürich, verantwortlich für die wertvolle Bürgerbibliothek und nahm aktiv am kulturellen Leben der Stadt teil. Die lange Jahre angestrebte Physikprofessur konnte er erst kurz vor seinem Tod antreten.  

1697 heiratete Scheuchzer die Färbertochter Susanna Vogel. Das Paar hatte sieben Söhne und eine Tochter, doch nur vier Jungen überlebten das Kindesalter.  

Die Kupfer-Bibel war ein Grossprojekt, das nur durch die komplexe Zusammenarbeit unterschiedlicher Personen realisiert werden konnte. Der Kupferstecher und Verleger Johann Andreas Pfeffel arbeitete eng mit Scheuchzer zusammen. Der Kunstmaler und Freund Scheuchzers, Johann Melchior Fuessli, zeichnete nach Vorgaben die meisten Tafeln, wofür er allerdings Versatzstücke aus diversen damaligen Publikationen zu Hilfe nahm. Der lateinische Text stammt von  Scheuchzer selbst, sein schweizerisches Schriftdeutsch wurde von einem Pfarrer in die hochdeutsche Sprache gesetzt. Kunsthistorisch bemerkenswert sind die Rahmenbilder, die von Johann Daniel Preissler entworfen wurden. Viele weitere Künstler waren ebenfalls beteiligt. 

NATURKUNDLICHER GOTTESBEWEIS

Scheuchzer schreibt in seinem Vorwort: «Mit der Zierde und Kunst der Natur suchte ich die ehrwürdige Heiligkeit der Offenbarung zu verknüpfen.»

Während sich andere Naturforscher von einer theologischen Weltdeutung distanzierten, wollte Scheuchzer als Physikotheolog Naturwissen für theologische Zwecke verwenden. Ziel der Physikotheologie war es, mit naturkundlichen Argumenten den Gottesbeweis zu erbringen. Das vorherrschende mechanistische Weltbild war dabei kein Hindernis, da die Physikotheologen hinter den mechanischen Abläufen Gottes Wille vermuteten. Die belebte und unbelebte Natur ist Idee und Werk Gottes, die es nicht zu untersuchen, sondern in ihrer Herrlichkeit darzustellen gilt. Die Perfektion der Natur wird als Beweis der Existenz Gottes interpretiert.