Abulcasis

ABULCASIS

METHODUS MEDENDI, 1541

AN ILLUSTRATED BOOK OF SURGERY

The surgical handbook of Abulcasis appeared in Basel in 1541. The title begins with the words: "Methodus Medendi certa, clara et brevis ...", i.e., "reliable, understandable and quick treatment method". It is proudly noted on the title page that the book contains nearly all of the instruments and illustrations necessary for nearly every disease. The publisher added additional medical writings to this work as well. The present copy is the third printed version.

The surgical writing is based on an extensive medical encyclopaedia entitled al-Tasrif (collection) which has thirty parts.  The thirtieth and final part of the book is particularly extensive. This is the surgical manual, which was printed separately.
In the first chapter, the book addresses the subject of cauterisation, including treatments with cautery irons. Another chapter is devoted to special surgeries such as stone operations, amputations, eye and ear surgery, obstetrics and dental surgery, wound care and cupping. A third part contains explanations on the healing of fractures and dislocations.

REQUIREMENTS FOR SURGEONS

With his work, Abulcasis wanted to improve the state of knowledge as well as the reputation of surgery. He writes: "I have described all the important operations in brief, and all necessary instruments, and I show them in drawn illustrations - thus I have done everything possible to shed light on the profession of the surgeon." He calls for every surgeon to familiarise himself with human anatomy and criticises Galen, who himself was content to focus on animal dissections. Only a surgeon who knows the cause and diagnosis of the suffering and has developed a therapeutic approach could perform procedures.

Although Abulcasis' teachings are firmly anchored in the ancient Doctrine of the Four Humours, the surgical explanations also contain new approaches. Particularly impressive are his illustrations, which appear not only in handwritten copies, but also in several subsequent surgical works. The Latin translation of al-Tasrif was printed for the first time in 1497 and in a second edition at Locatellus in Venice in 1500 , then in 1532 at Schott in Strassbourg. The present edition of 1541 was the first printed version illustrated with woodcuts.

PERSONAL PHYSICIAN TO THE WESTERN CALIPH

Abulcasis is wrongly referred to as Albucasis in this Latin translation of his manuscript. The name Abulcasis is the latinised form of Abu al-Qasim al-Zahrawi. The Spanish-Arab physician and surgeon was born around 936 in Andalusia and probably died shortly after 1009. Several decades before his birth, a second, Western Caliphate was established in Cordova – as opposed to the Eastern Arab Caliphate city of Baghdad.

There are not many sources at all that provide information on the life of Abulcasis. It is known that he was the personal physician of the young Western Caliph Hakam II, and that he moved with him into the new residence city al-Zahra outside of Cordova. The founding of this city is the reason for Abulcasis' surname, al-Zahrawi. Hakam II wanted to put an end to the enmity within the Arab world. He sent scholars and scouts to Baghdad to bring back copies of manuscripts to the western part of the kingdom. Abulcasis had access to his magnificent, extensive library. For twenty years, the Caliph reigned in the palace city. Then problems with the water supply forced the Court – Abulcasis as well – to return to Baghdad.

SURGERY AS AN ACADEMIC SPECIALITY

Arab medicine can be understood as an art and as a science. Long before there were universities in Europe, aspiring physicians in the Arab regions attended medical schools which included hospitals and libraries.

The search for ancient writings began in Europe in the High Middle Ages. There were only a few, often incomplete transcripts in the monasteries. In contrast, in the Eastern and Western Arab libraries, manuscripts were collected, copied and translated. Two waves of translation in particular brought Arab medicine and its unknown ancient writings to Europe. The first, which originated in the 11th century in the medical school of Salermo, Italy, and the second from Toledo, Spain in the 12th century. Both currents exerted great influence on Montpellier, where a medical college was created as a result. Unlike most medieval and early modern universities of Europe, surgery was not excluded as a non-academic craft in Montpellier and other Italian and Southern French medical schools.

In the 12th century, Abulcasis' manuscript was translated into Latin to be used as an academic textbook. For five centuries, Abulcasis had an impact on European surgery. The Papal physician, Guy de Chauliac, cited him around 200 times in his Chirurgie Magna, which was considered one of the most important medical compendia up into the 17th century.

Select your privacy settings to continue. Please read our privacy policy and imprint for more information.

Abulcasis - Museum für medizinhistorische Bücher Muri
Abulcasis

ABULCASIS

METHODUS MEDENDI, 1541

EIN BEBILDERTES CHIRURGIEBUCH

Das chirurgische Handbuch des Abulcasis erschien 1541 in Basel. Der Titel beginnt mit den Worten: „Methodus Medendi certa, clara et brevis ...“, also  „sichere, verständliche und kurze Behandlungsart“. Stolz wird auf dem Titelblatt vermerkt, dass das Buch die für beinahe alle Krankheiten notwendigen Instrumente und Abbildungen enthalte. Zu diesem Werk fügte der Verlag weitere medizinische Schriften hinzu. Beim vorliegenden Exemplar handelt es sich um die dritte gedruckte Ausgabe.  

Der chirurgischen Schrift liegt eine umfangreiche medizinische Enzyklopädie mit dem Titel Al-Tasrif (Sammlung) zugrunde, die aus dreissig Teilen besteht.  Der dreissigste und letzte Buchteil ist besonders umfangreich: Es handelt sich um das vorliegende chirurgische Handbuch, das separat gedruckt wurde.
Inhaltlich behandelt das Buch im ersten Kapitel die Kauterisation, worunter Behandlungen mit Glüheisen zu verstehen sind. Ein weiteres Kapitel ist der speziellen Chirurgie gewidmet wie Steinoperationen, Amputationen, Augen- und Ohrchirurgie, Geburtshilfe und Zahneingriffe, die Wundbehandlung und das Schröpfen. Ein dritter Teil enthält Ausführungen über die Heilweisen von  Frakturen und Luxationen.

ANFORDERUNGEN AN DIE CHIRURGEN

Abulcasis wollte mit seinem Werk den Wissensstand, aber auch den Ruf der Chirurgie verbessern. Er schreibt: „Ich habe in Kürze alle wichtigen Operationen beschrieben, alle notwendigen Instrumente, und ich zeige sie in grafischen Darstellungen – ich habe also alles unternommen, um Licht in den Beruf des Chirurgen zu bringen.“ Er fordert von jedem Chirurgen, dass er die menschliche Anatomie kenne, und kritisiert Galen, der sich mit Tiersektionen begnügt habe.

ingriffe dürfe nur ein Chirurg durchführen, der die Ursache und Diagnose des Leidens kenne und einen Plan für ein therapeutisches Vorgehen entwickelt habe. Wenngleich die Lehre von Abulcasis fest in der antiken Viersäftelehre verankert ist, enthalten die chirurgischen Ausführungen doch auch neue Herangehensweisen.Besonders beeindruckend sind seine Illustrationen, die nicht nur in handschriftlichen Kopien, sondern auch in mehreren chirurgischen Folgewerken wieder auftauchen. Die lateinische Übersetzung des Al-Tasrif wurde erstmals 1497 und in einer Zweitauflage 1500 bei Locatellus in Venedig gedruckt, dann 1532 bei Schott in Strassburg. Die vorliegende Ausgabe von 1541 war die erste gedruckte Fassung, die mit Holzschnitten illustriert wurde.

LEIBARZT DES WESTLICHEN KALIFEN

Abulcasis wird in der vorliegenden lateinischen Übersetzung seiner Handschrift fälschlich als Albucasis bezeichnet. Der Name Abulcasis ist die latinisierte Form von Abu al- Qasim al-Zahrawi. Der spanisch-arabische Arzt und Chirurg kam in Andalusien etwa 936 zur Welt und starb wahrscheinlich kurz nach 1009. Wenige Jahrzehnte vor seiner Geburt entstand in Cordoba – in Abgrenzung zur ostarabischen Kalifenstadt Bagdad – ein zweites, westliches Kalifat.

Es gibt kaum Quellen, die über das Leben von Abulcasis Auskunft erteilen. Bekannt ist, dass er Leibarzt des jungen westlichen Kalifen Hakam II wurde und mit ihm in die neue Residenzstadt al-Zahra ausserhalb Cordobas zog. Dieser Neugründung verdankt Abulcasis seinen Zunamen al-Zahrawi. Hakam II wollte der Gegnerschaft innerhalb der arabischen Welt ein Ende setzen. Er entsandte Gelehrte und Kundschafter nach Bagdad, um Kopien von Handschriften in den Westen des Reiches zu bringen. Abulcasis hatte Zugang zu seiner prächtigen und umfangreichen Bibliothek. Zwanzig Jahre lang regierte der Kalif in der Palaststadt. Probleme mit der Wasserversorgung zwangen den Hof – auch Abulcasis – zur Rückkehr nach Bagdad.

CHIRURGIE ALS AKADEMISCHES FACH

Die arabische Medizin verstand sich als eine Kunst und Wissenschaft. Lange bevor es in Europa Universitäten gab, besuchten angehende Ärzte im arabischen Raum Medizinschulen, zu denen Krankenhäuser und Bibliotheken gehörten.

Die Suche nach antiken Schriften begann in Europa im Hochmittelalter. In den Klöstern befanden sich nur wenige, oft lückenhafte Abschriften. Dagegen wurde in ost- und westarabischen Bibliotheken gesammelt, kopiert und übersetzt. Insbesondere zwei Übersetzungswellen brachte die arabische Medizin und mit ihr unbekannte antike Schriften nach Europa: Eine erste, die im 11. Jahrhundert von der Medizinschule im italienischen Salerno ausging, und eine zweite aus dem spanischen Toledo im 12. Jahrhundert. Beide Strömungen übten grossen Einfluss auf Montpellier aus, wo in der Folge eine medizinische Hochschule entstand. Im Gegensatz zu den meisten mittelalterlichen und frühneuzeitlichen Universitäten Europas fand in Montpellier und anderen italienischen und südfranzösischen medizinischen Fakultäten kein Ausschluss der Chirurgie als nichtakademisches, handwerkliches Fach statt.  

Das chirurgische Handschrift von Abulcasis im 12. Jh. wurde als akademisches Lehrbuch ins  Lateinische übersetzt. Über fünf Jahrhunderte prägte Abulcasis die europäische Chirurgie: Der päpstliche Leibarzt Guy de Chauliac zitierte ihn rund 200 Mal in seiner Chirurgie Magna, die bis ins 17. Jahrhundert zu den bedeutendsten medizinischen Kompendien zählte.