Johann Hieronymus Kniphof

JOHANN HIERONYMUS KNIPHOF

BOTANICA IN ORIGINALI, 2 BÄNDE 1757-1764

A LIVING HERBAL BOOK

The title of the work is "Botanica in originali, seu Herbarium vivum". This makes it clear that it is about original plants, representing a living herbarium. The plant images were produced using the process called "nature printing". To do this, actual plants were pressed and dyed with a stain made of soot and oil; however, the printing process remained secret. As the printing process put considerable strain on the plants, there had to be a sufficient number of replacement plants available. A maximum of five pieces of paper could be printed with the same plant. Some copies of the work were coloured according to precise guidelines.

The present example is a complete, coloured edition of all twelve "centuries"; i.e., all twelve sheets, each with one hundred plates. Thus, a total of 1200 plants were printed. Each century is preceded by a title page illustrated in colour. A prepended register enables an overview of the illustrated plants, with some plants listed multiple times.

As the centuries were sold unbound, it was the owner's responsibility to decide the order in which the plant images were arranged. In the present example, the original purchaser followed the order of the alphabet when binding, with the exception of the last century. The centuries published in Halle appeared without explanatory texts; under each individual image are only the Latin name and a few characteristics of the plant in note form. References to the works of Carl Linnaeus as well as the Leipzig medical professor and Director of the Botanical Gardens, Christian Gottlieb Ludwig, are given by those passages which refer to the plant.

PRECIOUS RARITY

The first edition of the "Botanica in originali" with the addition of "A living herbal" came out in several parts in 1733. At that time, Kniphof worked together with the printer Johann Michael Funcke. The first edition contains 300 plant images without text. The next edition followed immediately with 400 plates, which extended into 1736 and now also included explanations at the request of the readers. The texts for the medicinal plants were written by Kniphof, those for the garden plants by the horticultural writer Christian Reichard. In spite of the announcement of additional parts, the work stopped suddenly because the author Johann Hieronymus Kniphof lost his possessions and goods and thus his library as well in a devastating city-wide fire in Erfurt in 1736. It was not until 1747 that he attempted to build on the old tradition with the same publisher. This edition did not make it to the bookstore, however.

The present edition came out over the course of eight years between 1757 and 1764. Potential buyers were advised of the upcoming appearance of each current century with announcements in newspapers and journals. As many trained people were required to collect one hundred plants in several copies at the same time, each century represented a new challenge. It is extremely rare for complete editions of all twelve centuries to have been preserved to this day.

PHYSICIAN, BOTANIST AND PRESIDENT

Johann Hieronymus Kniphof (1704–1763) lost his father early. Thanks to his mother, he was able to study medicine and then worked as a physician in Erfurt. In 1737, Kniphof achieved the title of professor extraordinarius at the University of Erfurt. From 1745 to 1756, he held the Chair of Anatomy, Surgery and Botany, served as Dean of the Medical Faculty from 1747 onwards and even became President of the University of Erfurt in 1761. He died during his second term.

Andreas Elias Büchner, a medical professor in Halle, was among Kniphof's closest friends. Using his position as President, Büchner helped Kniphof become a member of the highly prestigious Leopoldina, the world's oldest Academy of Sciences, at a young age. Büchner married Kniphof's widow after his death. Büchner was responsible for the Botanical Garden in Halle. As Kniphof states in the preface to the present edition, the new edition of the Botanica in Originali can be traced back to Büchner's efforts. Büchner also established contact with the printer Johann Gottfried Trampe from Halle.

A NEW CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM

Nature prints were not invented by Kniphof, as he himself pointed out. Leonardo da Vinci had already printed a sage leaf with this procedure and described the process in detail. In the 16th century, individual herbaria were produced using the nature printing process, probably because this was a good alternative to moisture-sensitive plant collections.

Buyers of botanical collections were primarily apothecaries who needed guidelines that were as lifelike as possible for determining pharmaceutical plants.

Carl Linnaeus had developed a classification system based on plant sexual organs which allowed for the unambiguous classification of each plant. With the establishment of his system, the science of botany experienced what could be viewed as a break with Baroque plant collections, gradually moving towards this form of classifying nature.

In the 18th century, botanical illustrations – similarly to anatomical atlases and scientific images in general – were more and more precise. In this context, nature printing became popular as a method for representing nature true to detail. Kniphof's work "Botanica in Originali" led the way in this development. Botanical writings which represented plants in an idealised manner also appeared parallel to this. Both traditions can be seen even today.

Select your privacy settings to continue. Please read our privacy policy and imprint for more information.

Johann Hieronymus Kniphof - Museum für medizinhistorische Bücher Muri
Johann Hieronymus Kniphof

JOHANN HIERONYMUS KNIPHOF

BOTANICA IN ORIGINALI, 2 BÄNDE 1757-1764

EIN LEBENDES KRÄUTERBUCH

Der Titel des Werks lautet: „Botanica in originali, seu Herbarium vivum“. Er macht klar, dass es um Originalpflanzen geht, die ein lebendes Herbarium darstellen. Die Pflanzenbilder wurden im sogenannten „Naturselbstdruck“ hergestellt. Hierfür wurden echte Pflanzen gepresst und als Druckvorlage mit einem Färbemittel aus Russ und Öl eingefärbt, wobei der Druckvorgang geheim blieb. Da der Druck die Pflanzen stark strapazierte, mussten genügend Ersatzpflanzen vorliegen. Es konnten maximal fünf Papiere mit derselben Pflanze bedruckt werden. Einige Exemplare des Gesamtwerks wurden nach genauen Vorgaben koloriert.

Beim vorliegenden Exemplar handelt es sich um eine vollständige und kolorierte Ausgabe aller zwölf „Centurien“, also aller zwölf Bögen von je hundert Tafeln. Im Ganzen wurden somit 1200 Pflanzen abgedruckt. Jeder Centurie geht eine farbig illustrierte Titelseite voraus. Ein vorangestelltes Register erlaubt einen Überblick über die abgebildeten Pflanzen, wobei einzelne Pflanzen mehrfach vorhanden sind.

Da die Centurien ungebunden verkauft wurden, oblag es den Besitzern, wie sie die Pflanzenbilder aneinander reihten. Im vorliegenden Exemplar folgte der ursprüngliche Käufer bei der Bindung dem Alphabet mit Ausnahme der letzten Centurie. Die in Halle verlegten Centurien erschienen ohne erläuternde Texte; unter jeder einzelnen Abbildung stehen nur der lateinische Name und stichwortartig einige Charakteristika der Pflanze. Verweise auf die Werke von Carl von Linné sowie vom Leipziger Medizinprofessor und Direktor des Botanischen Gartens, Christian Gottlieb Ludwig, geben jene Textstellen an, die sich auf die Pflanze beziehen.

TEURE RARITÄT

Die Erstausgabe der „Botanica in originali“ mit dem Zusatz: „Das ist lebendig Kräuterbuch“ kam in mehreren Teilen 1733 heraus. Kniphof arbeitete damals mit dem Drucker Johann Michael Funcke zusammen. Die Erstauflage enthält 300 Pflanzenbilder ohne Text. Gleich schloss sich die nächste Edition mit 400 Tafeln an, die sich bis ins Jahr 1736 hinzog und auf Bitten der Leser nun auch Erläuterungen einschloss. Die Texte für die Arzneipflanzen stammten von Kniphof, jene für die Gartenpflanzen vom Gartenbauschriftsteller Christian Reichard. Trotz angekündigter weiterer Teile brach die Arbeit abrupt ab, weil der Autor Johann Hieronymus Kniphof 1736 bei einem verheerenden Stadtbrand in Erfurt sein Hab und Gut und damit auch seine Bibliothek verloren hatte. Erst 1747 versuchte er, mit demselben Verleger an die alte Tradition anzuknüpfen. Diese Ausgabe gelangte jedoch nicht in den Buchhandel.

Die vorliegende Edition kam im Verlauf von acht Jahren zwischen 1757 und 1764 heraus. Die potentiellen Käufer wurden mit Ankündigungen in Zeitungen und Zeitschriften auf das baldige Erscheinen der jeweils aktuellen Centurie hingewiesen. Da das Sammeln von hundert Pflanzen in mehreren Exemplaren zur selben Zeit zahlreiche, geschulte Personen erforderte, stellte jede Centurie eine neue Herausforderung dar. Vollständige Editionen aller zwölf Centurien sind nur sehr selten bis in die Gegenwart erhalten geblieben.

ARZT, BOTANIKER UND REKTOR

Johann Hieronymus Kniphof (1704–1763) hatte früh seinen Vater verloren. Dank der Mutter konnte er Medizin studieren und war danach als Arzt in Erfurt tätig. 1737 erhielt Kniphof eine ausserordentliche Professur an der Universität Erfurt. Von 1745 bis 1756 hatte er den Lehrstuhl für Anatomie, Chirurgie und Botanik inne, amtete schon ab 1747 als Dekan der Medizinischen Fakultät und wurde 1761 sogar Rektor der Universität Erfurt. Er verstarb während seiner zweiten Amtsperiode.

Andreas Elias Büchner, Medizinprofessor in Halle, gehörte zu Kniphofs engsten Freunden. Büchner verhalf Kniphof als Präsident der weltweit ältesten, hoch angesehenen Wissenschaftsakademie Leopoldina zu einer Mitgliedschaft in jungen Jahren. Nach Kniphofs Tod heiratete Büchner dessen Witwe. Büchner trug die Verantwortung für den Botanischen Garten in Halle. Wie Kniphof im Vorwort der vorliegenden Ausgabe festhält, geht die Neuauflage der Botanica im Original auf Büchners Bemühungen zurück. Büchner stellte auch den Kontakt zum Drucker Johann Gottfried Trampe aus Halle her.

EIN NEUES ORDNUNGSSYSTEM

Naturselbstdrucke waren keine Erfindung Kniphofs, wie er selbst betont. Bereits Leonardo da Vinci hatte ein Salbeiblatt mit diesem Verfahren gedruckt und den Vorgang detailliert beschrieben. Im 16. Jahrhundert wurden einzelne Herbarien im Naturselbstdruckverfahren hergestellt, vermutlich weil damit eine gute Alternative zu den feuchtigkeitsempfindlichen Pflanzensammlungen bestand. Die Käufer botanischer Sammelwerke waren in erster Linie Apotheker, die eine möglichst naturgetreue Vorgabe zur pharmazeutischen Pflanzenbestimmung benötigten.

Carl von Linné hatte ein Ordnungssystem auf der Basis der pflanzlichen Sexualorgane entwickelt, das die eindeutige Zuordnung jeder Pflanze ermöglichte. Mit der Etablierung seines Systems erfuhr die Botanik eine Art Bruch mit barocken Pflanzensammlungen, allerdings nach einer stufenweisen Annäherung an diese Form der Naturklassifizierung.

Im 18. Jahrhundert wurden die botanischen Illustrationen – ähnlich den anatomischen Atlanten und naturwissenschaftlichen Bildern allgemein – immer präziser. In diesem Zusammenhang erhielt der Naturselbstdruck Aufschwung als eine Methode, die Natur detailgetreu darzustellen. Kniphofs Werk „Botanica in Originali“ war in dieser Entwicklung wegweisend. Parallel dazu entstanden auch botanische Schriften, die Pflanzen idealtypisch abbildeten. Beide Traditionen lassen sich bis heute nachweisen.