Johann Caspar Lavater

JOHANN CASPAR LAVATER

PHYSIOGNOMIC FRAGMENTS, 4 VOLUMES, LEIPZIG AND WINTERTHUR , 1775-1778

SCIENTIFIC CREED

The doctrine of physiognomy assumes that the character of a person can be deduced from their facial features. Lavater viewed this theory as a science based on the measurements and proportions of the skull, face and its "measurable" parts (nose, chin, ears and eyes).

Lavater's four volumes contain numerous portraits of famous men who each represent a certain character. He interprets the individual face ultimately as a sign of God which had to be dicovered. In doing so, he relied on semiotics, the doctrine of signs that allows internal characteristics to be inferred from external forms.

This is based on the deeply religious core idea that God created man in his own image. In Lavater's eyes, therefore, the resemblance to Jesus became the absolute standard of judgement, which is why he understood his physiognomy as the "disclosure of the good that is in God." With this, Lavater elevated his theory to a creed.

EXERCISE BOOK FOR THE KNOWLEDGE OF HUMAN NATURE

Lavater's "Physiognomic Fragments for the Advancement of the Knowledge of Human Nature and Philanthropy" appeared every year between 1775 and 1778. Because of the numerous illustrations, the four volumes were amongst the most expensive publications of the 18th century. The German first edition was followed by English, French, Dutch and Russian translations, each with new engravings and silhouettes.

Many artists, such as Johann Heinrich Füessli and Daniel Chodowiecki, copied and painted silhouettes, copies of famous portraiture and drawings of ancient heads from all over Europe for Lavater's physiognomic collection. Even Johann Wolfgang von Goethe made a significant contribution to the first two volumes with drawings and explanations. The collection itself ultimately comprised over 22,000 pages and is located today in the National Library of Vienna. 

Lavater pursued the goal of "presenting to the reader and researcher as many diverse heads as possible to exercise his physiognomic sense. - Anyone can check whether his sense agrees with the judgement presented to him?" However, it remains unclear which character traits are indicated by what signs in the four volumes. After the appearance of the "Physiognomic Fragments", many people turned to Lavater for help. They sent silhouettes of friends, relatives and acquaintances, future spouses and business partners to gauge their character. Lavater's doctrine also drew heavy criticism, however. In light of the enthusiastic reception of the Physiognomic Fragments, Georg Christoph Lichtenberg spoke of a "physiognomics mania".

FAMOUS PIETISTIC PASTOR

Johann Caspar Lavater was born in Zurich as the twelfth child of the physician Johann Heinrich Lavater and Regula Escher vom Glas in 1741. A rebellious and patriotic phase in his youth was followed by a pious phase. He studied theology and was first a deacon of the Church of Orphanage, and later a pastor at the Church of St. Peter. In 1769, Lavater called on the well-known Jewish philosopher Moses Mendelssohn from Berlin to either refute the statements of a Christian work or to convert. The resulting correspondence was followed closely by many contemporaries.

Lavater authored over 130 writings. However, his main work, "Physiognomic Fragments", was the first to bring him renown far beyond the borders of the Swiss Confederation. Eminent figures from politics, business and art visited him, including Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, who distanced himself after a few years, however.

When the Zurich citizen Johann Heinrich Waser, a member of the prestigious Physical Society, was executed after a dubious criminal trial in 1780, enlightened Europe protested violently against the injustice. Lavater, on the other hand, took this incident as an opportunity to preach a sermon against "scientific arrogance" the day after the execution.

In 1799, Lavater was captured by Napoleon's troops and brought to Basel, where he remained in custody for a few weeks. In the same year, he was shot, and died in 1801.

PHYSIOGNOMICS THROUGH THE CENTURIES

The doctrine of physiognomics dates back to ancient times and exerted a strong influence on medieval painting. With the printing press, authors such as Giambattista Della Porta spread the theories to wider circles. In 1586, Porta's work "De humana physiognomia" assigned analogous traits to similarities between animals and humans. The courageous, honest and powerful man is contrasted with the anxious, devious and weak woman to distinguish gender characters, and they are compared with corresponding animals. Even this early work contained numerous illustrations.

In the 17th century, Charles Le Brun's richly illustrated Doctrine of the Passions was linked to this tradition, which, however, focused on facial expressions. In contrast, Lavater applied physiognomy exclusively to unchangeable parts of the face, pushing physiognomics into an unprecedented revival in the 18th century.

A continuation of his theory can be seen in Franz Joseph Gall's phrenology, which derived character features from skull shapes. Other areas of 19th century knowledge were built on Lavater's teaching: anthropometry, which purported to recognise mental patients and criminals by their body measurements, followed by criminology as the study of criminals, with Cesare Lombroso's creation of the topos of the "born criminal" in 1876, and the constitution typology of Ernst Kretschmer in 1921. Physiognomy reached its perverted high point in race hygiene.

Select your privacy settings to continue. Please read our privacy policy and imprint for more information.

Johann Caspar Lavater

JOHANN CASPAR LAVATER

PHYSIOGNOMISCHE FRAGMENTE, 4 BDE, LEIPZIG UND WINTERTHUR , 1775-1778

WISSENSCHAFTLICHES GLAUBENSBEKENNTNIS

Die Lehre der Physiognomik geht davon aus, dass sich der Charakter eines Menschen an seinen Gesichtszügen ablesen lasse. Lavater versteht diese Theorie als Wissenschaft, die auf den Massen und Proportionen des Schädels, des Gesichts und dessen „messbaren“ Teilen (Nase, Kinn, Ohren und Augen) aufbaut.

Lavaters Vierbänder enthält zahlreiche Porträts berühmter Männer, die jeweils für einen bestimmten Charakter stehen. Er interpretiert das individuelle Gesicht letztlich als Zeichen Gottes, das es zu deuten gilt. Dabei stützt er sich auf die Semiotik, die Lehre der Zeichen, die von äusseren Formen auf innere Eigenheiten schliessen lässt.

Dahinter steht der zutiefst religiöser Kerngedanken, dass Gott den Menschen nach seinem Ebenbild geschaffen habe. Für Lavater wird daher die Ähnlichkeit mit Jesus zum absoluten Beurteilungsmassstab, weshalb er seine Physiognomik als die „Offenbarung des Guten, das in Gott ist“, versteht. Damit erhebt Lavater seine Theorie zum Glaubensbekenntnis.

ÜBUNGSBUCH FÜR MENSCHENKENNTNIS

Lavaters „Physiognomische Fragmente zur Beförderung der Menschenkenntniß und Menschliebe“ erschienen jeweils im Jahresabstand zwischen 1775 und 1778. Durch die zahlreichen Illustrationen zählte der Vierbänder zu den teuersten Publikationen des 18. Jahrhunderts. Der deutschen Erstauflage folgten englische, französische, holländische und russische Übersetzungen, jeweils mit neuen Stichen und Silhouetten.

Viele Künstler kopierten und malten Silhouetten, Kopien berühmter Porträtmalereien und Zeichnungen antiker Köpfe aus ganz Europa für Lavaters physiognomische Sammlung, darunter Johann Heinrich Füessli und Daniel Chodowiecki. Sogar Johann Wolfgang von Goethe trug mit Zeichnungen und Ausführungen wesentlich zu den ersten beiden Bänden bei. Die Sammlung selbst umfasste schliesslich über 22.000 Blätter und befindet sich heute in der Nationalbibliothek Wien. Lavater verfolgte das Ziel, „dem Leser und Forscher so viel mannigfaltige Köpfe, wie möglich, vorzulegen, und sein physiognomisches Gefühl zu üben. - Jeder mag sich prüfen, ob sein Gefühl mit dem Urtheil, das man ihm vorlegen wird, übereinstimmt?“ An welchen Zeichen jedoch welche Charaktereigenschaften abgelesen werden können, bleibt in den vier Bänden unklar. Nach Erscheinen der „Physiognomischen Fragmente“ wandten sich zahlreiche Personen hilfesuchend an Lavater. Sie sandten Schattenrisse von Freunden, Verwandten und Bekannten, zukünftigen Ehegatten und Geschäftspartnern, um deren Charakter einschätzen zu lassen. Lavaters Lehre erfuhr aber auch heftige Kritik. Angesichts der enthusiastischen Aufnahme der Physiognomischen Fragmente sprach etwa Georg Christoph Lichtenberg von einer „Raserei der Physiognomik“.

PIETISTISCHER PFARRER ALS BERÜHMTHEIT

Johann Caspar Lavater kam 1741 in Zürich als zwölftes Kind des Arztes Johann Heinrich Lavater und Regula Escher vom Glas zur Welt. Einer rebellischen und einer patriotischen Phase in seiner Jugend schloss sich eine fromme Phase an. Er studierte Theologie und wurde zuerst Diakon der Waisenhauskirche, später Pfarrer an der Kirche St. Peter. 1769 forderte Lavater den bekannten jüdischen Philosophen Moses Mendelssohn aus Berlin auf, entweder die Ausführungen eines christlichen Werks zu widerlegen oder zu konvertieren. Der daraus hervorgegangene Briefwechsel wurde von vielen Zeitgenossen aufmerksam verfolgt.

Lavater verfasste über 130 Schriften. Weit über die Grenzen der Eidgenossenschaft hinaus bekannt machte ihn jedoch erst sein Hauptwerk „Physiognomische Fragmente“. Berühmtheiten aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Kunst besuchten ihn, darunter auch Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, der jedoch nach wenigen Jahren auf Distanz ging.

Als der Zürcher Johann Heinrich Waser, Mitglied der angesehenen Physikalischen Gesellschaft, nach einem dubiosen Strafprozess 1780 hingerichtet wurde, kam es im aufgeklärten Europa zu heftigen Protesten gegen die Unrechtsprechung. Lavater hingegen nahm diesen Vorfall zum Anlass, um am Tag nach der Hinrichtung eine Predigt gegen «Wissenschaftsdünkel» zu halten.

1799 wurde Lavater von Napoleons Truppen verhaftet und nach Basel gebracht, wo er ein paar Wochen inhaftiert blieb. Noch im selben Jahr wurde er angeschossen und starb 1801.

PHYSIOGNOMIK DURCH DIE JAHRHUNDERTE

Die Lehre der Physiognomik geht bis auf die Antike zurück und übte einen starken Einfluss auf die mittelalterliche Malerei aus. Mit dem Buchdruck verbreiten Autoren wie Giambattista Della Porta die Thesen in weitere Kreise. Portas Werk „De humana physiognomia“ ordnet 1586 Ähnlichkeiten zwischen Tieren und Menschen analoge Eigenschaften zu. Zur Unterscheidung der Geschlechtercharaktere werden die mutigen, ehrlichen und kraftvollen Männer den ängstlichen, verschlagenen und schwachen Frauen gegenüber gestellt und mit entsprechenden Tieren verglichen. Bereits dieses frühe Werk enthält zahlreiche Illustrationen.

Im 17. Jahrhundert knüpft die reich bebilderte Affektenlehre von Charles Le Brun an diese Tradition an, die allerdings den Gesichtsausdruck ins Zentrum stellt. Im 18. Jahrhundert wendet Lavater die Physiognomik dagegen ausschliesslich auf nicht veränderbare Gesichtsteile an und bringt sie zu einem ungeahnten Aufschwung.

Eine Weiterführung seiner Theorie lässt sich in Franz Joseph Galls Phrenologie erkennen, die aus Schädelformen Charaktermerkmale ableitete. Auch andere Wissensbereiche des 19. Jahrhunderts bauten auf Lavaters Lehre auf: die Anthropometrie, die Geisteskranke und Kriminelle an ihren Körpermassen erkennen wollte, gefolgt von der Kriminologie als Verbrecherkunde, mit der Cesare Lombroso 1876 den Topos des „geborenen Verbrechers“ schuf, und von der Kontitutionstypologie Ernst Kretschmers 1921. Ihren pervertierten Höhepunkt fand die Physiognomik in der Rassenhygiene.

Wählen Sie Ihre Datenschutzeinstellungen um fortzufahren. Lesen Sie bitte unsere Datenschutzerklärung und unser Impressum.