Due to building work the museum remains closed from 19th October to 22nd November 2021.

EUCHARIUS ROESSLIN

KREUTERBUCH, 1538

AN UNUSUAL HERBAL BOOK

The title of the work is "Herbal, of All Herbs, Animals, Stones and Metal, Nature, Value and Use". It was published by Christian Egenolff in Frankfurt am Main in 1538. The title already makes it clear that this work is not a herbal in the classic sense.

With the first edition of 1533, Roesslin intended to combine two important works in one handy book and make the contents accessible to a wide readership. The book is divided into four parts and covers the art of distillation, then animals, inanimate nature, and finally plants. Their uses follow each description. The more than 300 pages contain almost 250 old-coloured woodcuts, as well as a title woodcut and a title-page border. The binding of the present example consists of a two-column, medieval manuscript on parchment with a coloured initial H. 

The woodcuts represent plants, animals, and the processing of mineral soils using alchemy. The work also contains famous images of a physician at a patient's bedside, an apothecary and herb collectors at work.

A HEALTH BOOK FOR THE COMMON MAN

In the prologue, Eucharius Roesslin makes it clear that his work is specifically directed at the "common man"; i.e., the general public, the entire alphabetised population, all professionals and individuals who could read and write the common language. It was intended to convey the current knowledge of nature and its use. Its purpose was not to increase general knowledge, but rather to outline how nature could be used to maintain one's health and to treat diseases.

The image material was intended to convey to the readers what the plants, animals and minerals looked like and how they could be processed. The woodcuts originated from earlier editions of the "Gart der Gesundheit" (Garden of Health) or similar works.

The work was a great success with his contemporaries, also evidenced by the numerous editions published within just a few years. Only in later centuries was the work heavily criticised and deemed plagiarism.

ROESSLIN JUNIOR AND SENIOR

The author is not listed on the title page of the work. It is a new edition of a work that was already known at that time which Eucharius Roesslin the younger (before 1500 to about 1554) had written. Roesslin was the son of the city physician of the same name from Frankfurt am Main who had become famous through his work "Der schwangeren Frauen und Hebammen Rosengarten" (The Rose Garden of Pregnant Women and Midwives). Eucharius Roesslin the younger translated this book, which was aimed at the female readership, and published his own works in the common language. Like his father, he also held the position of city physician. He adapted his name, as was common among scholars during the Renaissance, to an ancient language and called himself "Rhodion" in ancient Greek.

Roesslin's herbal resulted from a compilation of two works which played a prominent role when books were first printed for medicine: "Gart der Gesundheit" by Johann de Cuba and the Small Book of Distillation by Hieronymus Brunschwig published in 1500.   

A MEDIEVAL MEDICINAL TREASURE

The book is not an original creation. Rather, it brought the treasure that was medieval medicine  into modern times and enriched it with additional knowledge of nature. This knowledge formed a basis which continued to be handed down into the 18th century.

Roesslin enabled his contemporaries to acquire the knowledge of the time and implement it to promote their own health. Despite distancing itself to a certain extent from the purely religious interpretation of nature which prevailed in the Middle Ages, early modern natural science remained strongly interwoven with moral and magical ideas.

According to the logic of the time, white saltpetre cleaned people inside and out, the shining stone of Ophtamus not only healed eye problems but could also make its wearer invisible by dazzling his/her surroundings, and holy incense healed every wound, strengthened the heart and made it joyful.

Eucharius Roesslin
Select your privacy settings to continue. Please read our privacy policy and imprint for more information.

Eucharius Roesslin - Museum für medizinhistorische Bücher Muri
Eucharius Roesslin

EUCHARIUS ROESSLIN

KREUTERBUCH, 1538

EIN UNGEWÖHNLICHES KRÄUTERBUCH

Der Titel des Werks lautet: „Kreuterbuch, von aller Kreuter, Gethier, Gesteine und Metal, Natur, nutz und gebrauch“. Es erschien 1538 bei Christian Egenolff in Frankfurt a.M. Bereits der Titel macht klar, dass es sich bei diesem Werk nicht um ein Kräuterbuch im klassischen Sinn handelt.

Mit der Erstauflage von 1533 bezweckte Roesslin, zwei wichtige Werke in einem handlichen Buch zusammenzufassen und die Inhalte so einer breiten Leserschaft zugänglich zu machen. Das Buch ist in vier Teile gegliedert und behandelt zuerst die Destillierkunst, dann die Tiere, die unbelebte Natur und schliesslich die Pflanzen. Der Beschreibung folgt jeweils die Nutzung. Auf den über 300 Seiten befinden sich fast 250 altkolorierte Holzschnitte, zudem ein Titelholzschnitt und eine Titelbordüre. Der Einband des vorliegenden Exemplars besteht aus einer zweispaltigen, mittelalterlichen Handschrift auf Pergament mit farbiger Initiale H.

Die Holzschnitte stellen Pflanzen, Tiere und die Verarbeitung mineralischer Erden mittels Alchemie dar. Zudem enthält das Werk berühmte Bilder von einem Arzt am Krankenbett, einer Apotheke und Kräutersammlern bei der Arbeit.

EIN GESUNDHEITSBUCH FÜR DEN GEMEINEN MANN

Im Prolog macht Eucharius Roesslin klar, dass sich sein Werk speziell an den „gemeynen man“ wendet, also an die Allgemeinheit, die gesamte alphabetisierte Bevölkerung, alle Berufs- und Privatpersonen, die der Landessprache in Wort und Schrift mächtig waren. Es sollte den damaligen Wissensstand über die Natur und ihre Nutzung vermitteln. Dabei ging es nicht um eine Erhöhung des Allgemeinwissens, sondern um dessen Nutzung zur Gesunderhaltung und Behandlung von Krankheiten.

Das Bildmaterial sollte den Lesern vermitteln, wie die Pflanzen, Tiere und Mineralien aussehen und wie sie verarbeitet werden können, wobei die Holzschnitte aus älteren Ausgaben des „Gart der Gesundheit“ oder ähnlichen Werken stammten.

Bei seinen Zeitgenossen war das Werk ein grosser Erfolg, wofür auch die zahlreichen Auflagen innerhalb von wenigen Jahren sprechen. Erst in späteren Jahrhunderten erfuhr das Werk heftige Kritik als Plagiat. 

ROESSLIN JUNIOR UND SENIOR

Der Autor wird auf der Titelseite des Werks nicht aufgeführt. Es handelt sich aber um eine Neuauflage eines damals bereits bekannten Werks, das Eucharius Roesslin der Jüngere (vor 1500-ca.1554) verfasst hatte. Roesslin war Sohn des gleichnamigen Stadtarztes von Frankfurt a.M., der durch sein Werk „Der Frauen und Hebammen Rosengarten“ berühmt wurde. Eucharius Roesslin d.J. übersetzte dieses an die weibliche Leserschaft gerichtete Buch und publizierte eigene Werke in der Landessprache. Zudem übte er, wie schon sein Vater, das Amt des Stadtarztes aus. Er passte, wie in der Renaissance unter Gelehrten üblich, seinen Namen einer antiken Sprache an und nannte sich altgriechisch „Rhodion“.

Roesslins Kräuterbuch entstand durch eine Kompilation zweier Werke, die zu Beginn des Buchdrucks für die Medizin eine überragende Rolle einnahmen: Den „Gart der Gesundheit“ von Johann de Cuba und das Destillierbuch von Hieronymus Brunschwig von 1500.

EIN MITTELALTERLICHER ARZNEISCHATZ

Das Buch ist keine originelle Neuschaffung. Vielmehr übernahm es den mittelalterlichen Arzneischatz in die Neuzeit und reicherte ihn mit zusätzlichem Naturwissen an. Dieses Wissen bildete einen Grundstock, der bis ins 18. Jahrhundert hinein weiter tradiert wurde.  

Roesslin ermöglichte seinen Zeitgenossen, sich das Wissen der Zeit anzueignen und im Hinblick auf die eigene Gesundheitsförderung umzusetzen. Trotz einer gewissen Distanzierung von einer rein religiösen Naturdeutung, die im Mittelalter vorherrschte, blieb das frühneuzeitliche Naturwissen von moralischen und magischen Ideen stark durchwoben. 

Nach damaliger Logik reinigte der weisse Salniter den Menschen innerlich und äusserlich, der leuchtende Stein Ophtamus heilte nicht nur Augenleiden, sondern konnte seinen Träger durch Blendung der Umgebung unsichtbar machen, und heiliger Weihrauch heilte jede Wunde, stärkte das Herz und machte fröhlich.