Jacob Ruf

JACOB RUF

EIN SCHÖN LUSTIG TROSTBÜCHLE, 1569

FOR WOMEN IN CHILDBIRTH AND MIDWIVES

Even in the title, Jakob Ruf makes it clear to whom the booklet is addressed: "A right funny comfort booklet on the conception and birth of men for the comfort of all birthing women, and actual reports from midwives". This is the second edition of the German version.

The book begins with a novelty – a detailed description illustrated with a picture series on the development of a child in the womb. In the second part, midwives are instructed on how to behave during difficult births.

The text is not based in theory, but rather provides concrete instructions for guidelines on how to act. The images date back to medieval templates of foetal presentations. Another part is dedicated to the female anatomy. Here, Ruf relies on Vesalius' "Fabrica", which had been printed eleven years earlier. Also of interest was the treatise on various "freaks" and their interpretation; for this, Ruf drew on earlier works.

RICHLY ILLUSTRATED

The comfort booklet was published in 1554 in German and Latin. The German version was addressed primarily to midwives, the Latin to professional colleagues and learned doctors. Both editions met with brisk demand. The Latin version was republished several times in the 1580s. The German-language version had already appeared in Zurich in the rare edition of 1569. After that, the comfort booklet was reprinted several times in German and other languages.

One reason for the high sales was the fascinating illustrations in the work by the still young artist Jos Murer. In contrast to the representation of anatomical dissections, the woodcuts in the comfort booklet focus on obstetrics. The midwife is not supposed to imagine corpses; rather, the images connect the midwife with the birthing woman.

In addition to these lively illustrations, the original and unconventional essays on embryonic development and obstetric instruments contributed to the popularity of the work.

A SELF-TAUGHT CITY PHYSICIAN

Jacob Ruf was born in Konstanz in 1505. The oldest child of a poor family, he entered a monastery in Chur. Galvanised by the Protestant Reformation, he left the monastery in the 1520s, and completed an apprenticeship as a shearer. In the autumn of 1532, he took up the post of city surgeon in Zurich and was awarded the rights of a citizen of Zurich. His task was to treat poor patients surgically for free, ranging from the removal of bladder stones to the setting of fractures to surgical procedures for goitres, tumours, eye diseases and dropsy.

In 1552, there was a sensational event: Ruf was named the interim city physician of Zurich. Although he had never attended university, he fulfilled this highest medical office for two years. Even after Conrad Gessner became city physician in 1554, Ruf continued to carry out much of the work of a city physician; for example, the training and examination of midwives. In addition to medical works such as a manuscript on ophthalmology, a tumour booklet and the comfort booklet, Ruf authored literary works. They dealt with sin and piety and addressed pressing issues of the time. Four of his plays were performed as city-wide events.

When he was about 25 years old, Ruf married the wealthy Kleophe Schenkli of Zurich. The pair had a daughter, Anna, who married one of Ruf's pupils. After his father-in-law's death in 1558, he filled the latter's position as city surgeon.

REQUIRED READING FOR THE EXAMINATION

The comfort booklet quickly became the examination syllabus for midwives. Independently of the quality of the teaching aids, the expert role of men became connected with a takeover of the power of interpretation over health matters. The theoretical knowledge of the female body developed by men became a requirement of being able to practise as a midwife. In contrast, the passing on of practical obstetrical knowledge, which had been done from woman to woman, lost its importance.

Jacob Ruf's work took place in the context of a larger process. In Paris, London and Frankfurt, physicians and surgeons became concerned with the art of delivery and began opening midwifery schools and training male obstetricians. The midwife, previously selected by the local women, now had to allow herself to be tested by men. Although

men still only attended births in exceptional cases, the identity of obstetrics was changed. It was no longer an assistance for healthy women; rather, it was now a speciality area of surgical medicine. Ruf's comfort booklet and analogous obstetrical works cemented the new power relationship between the sexes.

Select your privacy settings to continue. Please read our privacy policy and imprint for more information.

Jacob Ruf - Museum für medizinhistorische Bücher Muri
Jacob Ruf

JACOB RUF

EIN SCHÖN LUSTIG TROSTBÜCHLE, 1569

FÜR GEBÄRENDE UND HEBAMMEN

Schon im Titel macht Jacob Ruf deutlich, an wen sich das Büchlein wendet: „Ein schön lustig Trostbüchle von den empfengknussen und geburten der menschen zuo trost allen gebärenden frouwen, und eigentlichem bericht der Hebammen“. Es handelt sich um die Zweitauflage der deutschen Fassung.

Das Buch setzt mit einem Novum ein: einer detaillierten und mit einer Bilderserie illustrierten Beschreibung, wie sich ein Kind im Mutterleib entwickelt. Im zweiten Teil werden Hebammen angeleitet, wie sie sich bei schwierigen Geburten zu verhalten haben.

Der Text bleibt nicht in der Theorie verhaftet, sondern erteilt konkrete Handlungsanweisungen. Die Bilder gehen auf mittelalterliche Vorlagen von Kindslagen zurück. Ein weiterer Teil widmet sich der Anatomie der Frau. Hier stützt sich Ruf auf die „Fabrica“ von Vesalius ab, die elf Jahre zuvor gedruckt worden war. Ebenfalls auf Interesse stiess die Abhandlung über verschiedene „Missgeburten“ und ihre Deutung, wobei sich Ruf dabei an früheren Werken orientierte.

REICH BEBILDERT

Das Trostbüchle kam 1554 in Deutsch und Latein heraus. Die deutsche Version wandte sich in erster Linie an Hebammen, die lateinische an Berufskollegen und gelehrte Ärzte. Beide Ausgaben stiessen auf rege Nachfrage. Die lateinische Version wurde in den 1580er Jahren mehrfach neu aufgelegt. Die deutschsprachige Version erschien bereits in der seltenen vorliegenden Auflage von 1569 in Zürich. Auch danach wurde das Trostbüchle in Deutsch und anderen Landessprachen mehrfach nachgedruckt.

Ein Grund für den hohen Absatz lag in der faszinierenden Bebilderung des Werks durch den noch jungen Künstler Jos Murer. Im Gegensatz zur Darstellung anatomischer Präparate orientieren sich die Holzschnitte im Trostbüchle an der Geburtshilfe: Die Hebamme soll sich nicht geöffnete Leichen vorstellen, sondern die Bilder mit der gebärenden Frau in Verbindung bringen.

Neben diesen lebendigen Illustrationen trugen die originellen und unkonventionellen Abhandlungen über die Embryonalentwicklung und die geburtshilflichen Instrumente zur Beliebtheit des Werks bei.

EIN NICHTSTUDIERTER STADTARZT

Jacob Ruf kam 1505 in Konstanz zur Welt. Als ältestes Kind einer armen Familie trat er in ein Kloster in Chur ein. Aufgerüttelt durch die Reformation verliess er das Kloster in den 1520er Jahren, und absolvierte eine Schererlehre. Im Herbst 1532 trat er die Stelle des Stadtschnittarztes in Zürich an und erhielt das Zürcher Bürgerrecht. Seine Aufgabe war es, arme Kranke kostenlos chirurgisch zu behandeln, wobei das Spektrum von der Entfernung des Blasensteins über die Fixierung von Brüchen bis zu chirurgischen Eingriffen gegen Kröpfe, Tumore, Augenleiden und Wassersucht reichte.

1552 geschah eine Sensation: Ruf wurde zwischenzeitlich zum Stadtarzt von Zürich ernannt. Obschon er nie eine Universität besucht hatte, nahm er dieses höchste medizinische Amt zwei Jahre ein. Auch nachdem Conrad Gessner 1554 Stadtarzt geworden war, übte Ruf weiterhin viele stadtärztliche Tätigkeiten aus, beispielsweise die Ausbildung und Prüfung der Hebammen. Neben medizinischen Werken wie einer Handschrift über Augenheilkunde, einem Tumorbüchlein und dem Trostbüchle verfasste Ruf literarische Werke. Sie handelten von Sünde und Frömmigkeit und griffen damals hochaktuelle Fragen auf. Von seinen Theaterstücken kamen vier als städtische Grossereignisse zur Aufführung.

Mit etwa 25 Jahren heiratete Ruf die vermögende Zürcherin Kleophe Schenkli. Das Paar hatte eine Tochter, Anna. Diese heiratete einen Schüler Rufs, der nach dem Tod des Schwiegervaters 1558 dessen Stelle als Stadtschnittarzt antrat.

PFLICHTLEKTÜRE FÜR DIE PRÜFUNG

Das Trostbüchle avancierte schnell zum Prüfungsstoff für Hebammen. Unabhängig von der Qualität des Lehrmittels verband sich mit der Expertenfunktion von Männern eine Übernahme gesundheitlicher Deutungsmacht. Das von Männern entwickelte theoretische Wissen über den weiblichen Körper wurde zur Bedingung, den Beruf der Hebamme ausüben zu können. Die Weitergabe der praktischen Geburtshilfe, die von Frau zu Frau stattfand, verlor dagegen an Bedeutung.

Jacob Rufs Aktivitäten stehen im Kontext eines grösseren Prozesses. In Paris, in London und in Frankfurt befassten sich Ärzte und Chirurgen mit der Entbindungskunst, begannen Hebammenschulen zu eröffnen und männliche Geburtshelfer auszubilden. Die zuvor in der Regel von den örtlichen Frauen gewählte Hebamme musste sich nun von Männern prüfen lassen. Obwohl

weiterhin nur in Ausnahmefällen Männer Geburten leiteten, veränderte die Geburtshilfe ihre Identität: Sie war nicht länger eine Hilfeleistung für Gesunde, sondern zählte nun zu einem Spezialbereich der operativen Medizin. Rufs Trostbüchle und analoge geburtshilfliche Werke zementierten das neue Machtverhältnis der Geschlechter.